If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!guy i have a question is windows7help.com copy right infringment?
im confused.
I don't know. But MS paid 10,200/ for www.windows7.co.in thru moniker.
Microsoft is probably the most aggressive company when it comes to "protecting" their trademark. They probably had to buy the co.in because the entity that oversees .co.in (does WIPO also cover that?) didn't see it as infringing on their TM (due to it being based in India) but the .com is based out of the US.
Tread extremely carefully.
Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.
Don't know why microsoft bought it , but probably it might have been the fact that INDRP takes time and they might be wanting to purchase it without much neg. hype . In India , INDRP is one of the worst things with India lacking a proper online trademark database , and the fact that fines are pretty stiff even when not warranted.It's sometimes an arbitrary process.
Regarding windows7help.com ,as mentioned above " Tread extremely carefully."
For SALE : The hottest name this cricket season IPL5.com .PM offers..
How about crack7.com-- could argue crack6.com was already taken?![]()
Ok, first the "law nerd" part -- no, it isn't *copyright* infringement. Copyright infringement is when you steal someone's original work of creative expression.
But, what you meant to ask whether it was *trademark* infringement.
The answer to that is: "It depends."
If you use it to offer people help pertaining to Windows 7, it might be fair use. If you use it for a PPC site, it sure as hell isn't. If you use it for a cleverly-masked PPC site, with some random aggregated blog postings and then click through ads, it will be deemed to be infringement.
Chances are, if you're posting on this forum and not on a computer geek forum, your use will not be fair use.
Bookmarks