Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: WIPO question

  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    domainduck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    375
    DNF$
    1,224
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,224
    Donate  

    WIPO question

    Question for legal eagles...

    I have been contacted by a UK lawyer who wants a dot-com that I have had for 1.5 years.

    He has just registered the .co.uk variation.

    His first email read - "Please could you say whether or not you are using this domain name, and, if not, whether you might be open to offers or proposals."

    I quoted a reasonable $3,500.00 USD - He countered with $50.00 - Thus began the dispute.

    There are 4 dead US trademarks, none active.

    He claims 'intent to use' for an International product.

    He claims that WIPO will rule in his favor, because I am merely trying to sell it, while he wants to develop it.

    He also claims 'Such pure 'cybersquatting' trade is now outlawed internationally'.

    I asked my lawyer to send him a response, which he has refuted.

    Now, I am looking for international legal precedent.

    Does anyone know of any past WIPO cases in which an entity with no TM protection won a domain name purely on the basis of 'intent to use' ?

    If he can in fact take this domain name from me, then we are all in trouble.


    quack

  2. #2
    DNF Regular

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    475
    DNF$
    1,710
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,710
    Donate  
    BUMP - very interesting situation! Hopefully some people can shed light on an answer.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,140
    DNF$
    3,150
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,150
    Donate  
    he has no rights to the domain whatsoever. in order to win WIPO he would have to prove that the domain was *registered* and *used* in bad faith, AND that you were not making a bona fide offering of services. that would be very hard for him to do.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    756
    DNF$
    1,343
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,343
    Donate  

    Re: WIPO question

    Originally posted by domainduck
    He claims that WIPO will rule in his favor, because I am merely trying to sell it, while he wants to develop it.

    He also claims 'Such pure 'cybersquatting' trade is now outlawed internationally'.
    In other words, he's beyond stupid.

    My response would be something like, "I'm sorry, but you have an extremely poor understanding of how the ICANN name dispute process and cybersquatting laws work. If you do not wish to buy this name you will not ever have the domain. The price you would have to pay is now $5,000 and will increase by $1,500 each time I have to respond to another of your baseless accusations."
    Dan Norder
    Werewolves.com, Inklings.com, OtherWoman.com and more

  5. #5
    DNF Regular

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    475
    DNF$
    1,710
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,710
    Donate  

    Re: Re: WIPO question

    Originally posted by namedropper
    "I'm sorry, but you have an extremely poor understanding of how the ICANN name dispute process and cybersquatting laws work. If you do not wish to buy this name you will not ever have the domain. The price you would have to pay is now $5,000 and will increase by $1,500 each time I have to respond to another of your baseless accusations."
    LOL!

  6. #6
    Gold Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    327
    DNF$
    1,444
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,444
    Donate  
    DD> He claims that WIPO will rule in his favor, because I am merely trying to sell it, while he wants to develop it.

    As this man is a UK lawyer, he should know better.

    He seems to imply there is something wrong with reselling and brokering.

    Tell him what we we all know:

    Memorable domain names command high prices on the secondary market.

    Anybody else only need look at Great Domains. They are owned by VeriSign, the world's largest provider of Internet trust services.

    As those that bought anything on the Internet know, VeriSign ensure secure payments online.

    Proctor and Gamble had thousands of domains and were selling many off - they had beautiful.com valued at three million dollars.

    So everybody can see - the secondary market is legitimate commerce. They sell domain names with a view to profit - since profit is the main purpose of commerce.

    It seems to me like he is trying to bully the domain from you.
    Last edited by Garry Anderson; 02-12-2004 at 08:17 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com