Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    21
    DNF$
    94
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    94
    Donate  

    Wrong Whois information and Trademark Action

    I recently received a physical copy of an complaint by Microsoft seeking the reassignment of 29 bing.... domain names. The email address the person who has registered these domain names is using is theodoresudol@gmail.com. I do not use that email address, I use a different email configuration of my name at gmail and did not register these domain names. Thinking it was just a case of mistaken identity I went to the whois and found to my surprise my contact information listed for these domains with the theodoresudol@gmail.com email address. The complaint further goes on to state that as evidence of my bad faith I contacted Microsoft and tried to sell them the domains for $29,990. They further go on to say that I sold 9 of the domains to an individual in China. The only problem is it wasn't me - I never contacted Microsoft to sell these domains and never sold or transferred any of these domains to anyone in China.

    The problem with whois is anyone can enter any information. As long as you have the email address and the account password you can control the domain. I don't know if anyone at name.com is involved since when I tried to change the account password it said a new password was being mailed to n***s@name.com I don't know if the individual in China to whom these names were transferred to Yaoxin Liu is aware of the problem and the fact that Microsoft may bring an action against him.

    While I agree with the goal of the action, to reassign these names to microsoft and that will be what happens, it seems like not responding is agreeing to the allegations of bad faith, etc,

    Has this happened to anyone else? What course of action do you suggest? Thanks in advance for your help

    All the best,
    Ted Sudol

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,641
    Country

    Christmas Island
    DNF$
    10,486
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    10,486
    Donate  
    Man, thats quite the pickle huh? I would reply directly to the complaint and demonstrate the facts you just outlined above, especially where the new email is being forwarded to. Get screen caps, etc, before that is changed.

  3. #3
    JewelryRelated.com
    stock_post's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sharp Directory
    Posts
    2,826
    DNF$
    32,565
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    32,565
    Donate  
    Those domains must be bought by some Credit card or Paypal etc as long as you are not associate with the purchase, you should be safe.
    Medical and Health Directory |
    Health Directory |

    Hostgator Hosting Coupon -- hostbidscom -- Save $9.94

  4. #4
    DNF Member
    stewie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,098
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    1,212
    Bank
    488,356
    Total DNF$
    489,568
    Donate  
    Contact ICANN, cc Mircosoft and the Registrar where the domains were registered. Report the domains being registered under the wrong/false whois information.

    Just a thought.

    goodluck keep us posted.

    .
    Buying .ca domains pm with pricing, will reply ..., thx
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . WebSite Developer Wanted!!! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  5. #5
    Country hopper
    katherine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Free World
    Posts
    7,499
    Country

    Iceland
    DNF$
    30,540
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    30,540
    Donate  
    Microsoft will probably have to subpoena the registrar to trace the person.
    It's scary but you are not the first victim of such cowardice.
    NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
    ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com