That was a "nice" email, it could have been worse.
No coffee products.. that's all .. so.. there are many other things you can promote on Colombian.org.
They may end up being the prime potential "buyer" of the domain.
goodluck
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!I just received this via email regarding one of my domain names, "Colombian.org". From what I make of the letter, they just don't want me to promote coffee on the site (should I build one).
Is there any reason for me to be worried or to take any action?
Here is the email:
-------------------------------------------------------------
Re: colombian.org
Dear Mr. Batha:
As you may be aware, the Republic of Colombia (the "Republic") is the owner of the United States federally registered certification mark COLOMBIAN (Registration No. 1,160,492) for coffee (the "Certification Mark"). The National Federation of Coffee Growers of Colombia (the "Federation") acts on the Republic's behalf, through the Colombian Coffee
Federation, Inc., to enforce the Republic's rights with respect to the Certification Mark. The Republic has used the Certification Mark for a lengthy period of time. The Certification Mark is a valuable asset that represents, among other things, the Republic's good will and reputation to the public, and the Federation must take all necessary steps to protect it.
It has come to our attention that you have registered the domain
name colombian.org (the "Domain Name"). Although there is no operational web site at the Domain Name as of this writing, we would like to make clear to you the implications of such registration.
The Federation and the Republic have invested substantial
resources in promoting Colombian coffee to consumers worldwide. The use and/or individual appropriation of the word "Colombian" (which as noted above has been registered in the U.S. as a mark) or words confusingly similar to Colombian, by way of an internet domain name or a trademark,
constitute an improper use of a descriptor that effectively takes the goodwill of the Federation and the Republic for private commercial advantage.
The Federation therefore believes that registration of the Domain
Name constitutes "bad faith registration" of a domain name, according to the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy of the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (the "ICANN Policy"). Furthermore, such registration will also constitute a violation of applicable trademark laws and infringe the Certification Mark should you operate a web site from the Domain Name which relates to or commercializes
coffee products or services associated with coffee because it is likely to cause confusion among consumers as to the source of the goods or services that you may offer on your web site. Such incorporation of the Certification Mark into the Domain Name is likely to create the misimpression that the Republic or the Federation owns, endorses, supports, promotes and/or operates any web site connected to the Domain Name.
For these reasons, the Federation demands that you abstain from promoting, advertising or commercializing coffee products, or products or services associated with coffee in connection with the Domain Name. This letter serves as notice of a dispute between you and the Federation under the ICANN Policy should you ignore the Federation's demands.
We would also like to emphasize that the Federation does not
intend to prevent you from selling Colombian coffees, or referring to coffees as "Colombian," as long as those coffees comply with applicable Certification Mark standards. The Federation's objective, as mandated by U.S. law, is to deter the use of the valuable mark "Colombian" to identify a particular brand as a trademark or a coffee-related domain name, or to
sell non-Colombian or below grade coffees.
We trust that you will recognize the importance of this matter,
and we anticipate your prompt response to this letter.....
--------------------------------------------------
That was a "nice" email, it could have been worse.
No coffee products.. that's all .. so.. there are many other things you can promote on Colombian.org.
They may end up being the prime potential "buyer" of the domain.
goodluck
Not far fetched at all. Remember "canadian", and the molson company. Molson won.Originally posted by domainicanicanica
I just received this via email regarding one of my domain names, "Colombian.org".
NETCHEAP - Discount Dotster Reseller - $7.99
FREE pushes from your dotster account, renew for $7.99! 1. Create a netcheap account. 2. Push from dotster to netcheap account name. 3. Renew for $7.99!
http://www.udrplaw.biz/BlackvMolson.pdfOriginally posted by GiantDomains
Not far fetched at all. Remember "canadian", and the molson company. Molson won.
Profoundly influenced by #Bauhaus, @Nameslave unrepentantly embraces #Minimalism in his #multimedia portfolio. His early works include an experimental adaptation of Chekhov’s Cherry Orchard inspired at least partly by Robert Fripp. His totally irrelevant M.Ed. dissertation examines Organizational Culture and Change Management.
There's one other export from Columbia bigger than coffee. You know what I mean?
ROFL no kidding. Put up a page with the following:
"Colombian government bans coffee - free putas & coca!"
Thanks for the input so far!
Actually Molson won the arbritation on Canadian.biz and lost the legal case that followed with costs.
As for exports from Columbia bigger than coffee one that comes to mind is coke in one of its non trademark uses.
Set up an online trading site for leftist rebel hi-jackers, where they can bid on and swap kidnap victims.
That, cocaine, and marijuana should avoid damaging their valuable mark...
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
wana realyy get them burning point it to http://www.coffee.us;)
Originally posted by zouzas
wana realyy get them burning point it to http://www.coffee.us;)
oops http://www.coffee.us
It would definitely be a good case study for this particular situation.Originally posted by FineE
Actually Molson won the arbritation on Canadian.biz and lost the legal case that followed with costs.
NETCHEAP - Discount Dotster Reseller - $7.99
FREE pushes from your dotster account, renew for $7.99! 1. Create a netcheap account. 2. Push from dotster to netcheap account name. 3. Renew for $7.99!
zouzas, no coffee website? Kokala exei o kafes?![]()
So, use the site to promote Columbia jackets at a reduced price from china.
Or, your own line of handtools or suntan lotion.
Word Mark COLUMBIAN
Goods and Services : A full line of hand tools and accessories therefor for automotive, plumbing, carpentry, yard, workshop and industrial use; and parts and fittings for such hand tools and accessories
COLUMBIAN
Goods and Services : Suntan preparations, namely, suntan oils, suntan lotions, suntan gels, after-sun lotions, moisturizers, sun blocks and sun-screens
Or, promote the increased consumption of Tea!!!
Nameslave, thanks for posting the link to the Canadian.biz court decision. I think Molson was put in its proper place with Judge Wright's decision. Also, American Airlines lost American.biz, see here for a copy of the decision: http://www.arb-forum.com/domains/decisions/112518.htm
Bookmarks