Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    allanh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    507
    DNF$
    2,616
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,616
    Donate  

    real or bogus email from Dotster?

    I got this email from Dotster (?) this morning. Can a rep from Dotster confirm or deny whether this is actually from Dotster or is it from an ad agency just to confirm our emails?

    -------------------------------------

    Email Confirmation

    Dear Dotster Customer,
    We are in the process of updating our customer communication preferences. Please verify the email address below to continue receiving important updates, news, and special offers from Dotster.
    Email Address: ********@********.com
    Click here to confirm your email address. (URL edited)
    As a special thank you, when you confirm your email address you will receive a coupon for 10% off your next order.
    If the above link doesn’t work, please copy and paste this link into your browser: http://emailer.dotster.co .krLXUMKS1dIuvuq (URL edited)
    If you do not confirm your email address, you will no longer receive important Dotster product updates, news, and special offers, so please confirm your email address (URL edited) today.
    If you have questions, please contact Dotster Customer Support by visiting: http://www.dotster.com/resources/support/
    Sincerely,
    Dotster Customer Support
    www.dotster.com
    Last edited by allanh; 10-05-2008 at 06:23 PM. Reason: URL change
    For all City Hunter info - CityHunter.com
    Tawain domainers -TaiwanDomainers.com
    My Osaka city portal -
    Osaka.com





  2. #2
    Country hopper
    katherine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Free World
    Posts
    7,499
    Country

    Iceland
    DNF$
    30,536
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    30,536
    Donate  
    http://emailer.dotster.com/ redirects to http://www.eroi.com/

    But I would be wary of this one. If you received this stuff obviously the E-mail address on file is correct...
    NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
    ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    allanh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    507
    DNF$
    2,616
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,616
    Donate  
    I agree. My feeling is that they are either going to install some spyware on my computer when I click it or confirm my email address.
    For all City Hunter info - CityHunter.com
    Tawain domainers -TaiwanDomainers.com
    My Osaka city portal -
    Osaka.com





  4. #4
    Moderator
    Johnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    15,008
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    5,429
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,429
    Donate  
    Please edit your post and remove the link.
    If you are not sure about the link then do not post here as other members may click on it.

    Thanks,
    John

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    622
    DNF$
    250
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    250
    Donate  
    got the same one, very presentable email but that link didnt sit well with me, did anyone call them?

  6. #6
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    allanh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    507
    DNF$
    2,616
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,616
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by Johnn View Post
    Please edit your post and remove the link.
    If you are not sure about the link then do not post here as other members may click on it.

    Thanks,
    John
    sure mate. Give me a sec
    For all City Hunter info - CityHunter.com
    Tawain domainers -TaiwanDomainers.com
    My Osaka city portal -
    Osaka.com





  7. #7
    Moderator
    Johnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    15,008
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    5,429
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,429
    Donate  
    You can post the url info but make it not-clickable.

    Thanks,
    John

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com