DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Beginners and Newbies
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2009, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Namefox
 
Namefox's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 04:18 PM
iTrader: (96)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,903
DNF$: 998
Location: US/Canada


Question Newbie question

While I am not a newbie I have a newbie question. I keep getting emails from someone apparently that is using my email address and is sending out Viagra emails. So I am assuming my email (info at wcig.ca) is being used to send out spam email or at least it is being made to look that way.

What can I do to stop this?
__________________
Buyers always responsible for associated transfer costs.
Freeze.ca is for sale. Since 2000. Contact me if interested.
Namefox is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 10-31-2009, 10:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 12:32 PM
iTrader: (15)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 451
DNF$: 20


Not much as far as I know. There are ways to make it look like you are sending mail from support@google.com or anything if you want to. Thats how phishing scams get people.
__________________
Buying domains with traffic and revenue. Also buying quality .com poker domains.
PokerPie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 02:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Namefox
 
Namefox's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 04:18 PM
iTrader: (96)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,903
DNF$: 998
Location: US/Canada


I $@$#$% hate this kind of crap...someone passing themselves off as my company using my emails to spam people with Viagra emails.
__________________
Buyers always responsible for associated transfer costs.
Freeze.ca is for sale. Since 2000. Contact me if interested.
Namefox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
HarrisonJ's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-12-2009 08:52 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 10
DNF$: 10


Yea there isn't much you can do. They do it to my emails too.
__________________
Starcraft 2 Strategy Guide - Become a Starcraft 2 Strategy Master
HarrisonJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
theinvestor's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 12:54 AM
iTrader: (34)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,293
DNF$: 0
Location: Toronto, Canada
Country:


Have you pissed someone off lately?
theinvestor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 12:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Namefox
 
Namefox's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 04:18 PM
iTrader: (96)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,903
DNF$: 998
Location: US/Canada


Quote:
Originally Posted by theinvestor View Post
Have you pissed someone off lately?
LOL...not today at least
__________________
Buyers always responsible for associated transfer costs.
Freeze.ca is for sale. Since 2000. Contact me if interested.
Namefox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
demaxxus's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 01:51 AM
iTrader: (8)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 159
DNF$: 1,034


Quote:
Originally Posted by Namefox View Post
While I am not a newbie I have a newbie question. I keep getting emails from someone apparently that is using my email address and is sending out Viagra emails. So I am assuming my email (info at wcig.ca) is being used to send out spam email or at least it is being made to look that way.

What can I do to stop this?
If you don't do it already, at the very minimum you should publish an SPF record for your domain, as well as set up DomainKeys/DKIM. Then if the spammer sends to an email provider that uses these methods for filtering incoming email, they'll see that their IP isn't allowed to send mail for your domain and their emails will be treated with more scrutiny.

It won't prevent this from happening, but it could definitely help.
demaxxus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 11:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Namefox
 
Namefox's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 04:18 PM
iTrader: (96)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,903
DNF$: 998
Location: US/Canada


Thank you.
__________________
Buyers always responsible for associated transfer costs.
Freeze.ca is for sale. Since 2000. Contact me if interested.
Namefox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com