Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Beginners and Newbies
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2009, 04:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 02-28-2009 04:50 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
DNF$: 10


Selling domain - contacted via email

I was contacted via email about one of my domains. From a company named Elite Investment Group. Has anyone heard of this company? Im new to domain selling and feel like this maybe a scam because the guy offered me a price higher than the posted price and then wanted me to get the domain appraised though domainexplorer.org. Can anyone give me any suggestions on how to go about this transaction.

Last edited by biggedon; 06-22-2009 at 11:03 AM..
Chokko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 02-28-2009, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
anatoly's Avatar
 
Name: Anatoly
Last Online: Yesterday 10:33 PM
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 390
DNF$: 260
Location: Brooklyn
Country:


thats an old scam
__________________
Neuroscience
anatoly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 04:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 02-28-2009 04:50 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
DNF$: 10


thought as much, thank you
Chokko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
CrossLogix.com
 
copper's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 11:11 AM
iTrader: (65)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,238
DNF$: 2,167
Location: Matthews, NC. U


Sounds like domain appraisal scam to me.
__________________

Domain Names For Sale
copper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 04:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Onward's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 12:59 PM
iTrader: (45)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,033
DNF$: 15,654
Location: Washington DC
Country:


Delete...Don't bother responding.
__________________
.

Find out who is sending that anonymous offer...
Search their e-mail address across over 40 social & business networking sites, blogs and forums.
Onward is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 12:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Arrogance's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 07:54 AM
iTrader: (44)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 835
DNF$: 20
Location: VA
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by anatoly View Post
thats an old scam
it's almost a right of passage for new domainers to get that email
__________________
MarketNews.org AccountExecutive.org Meaningless.org SavingsRate.org JobGrowth.org GreenEurope.net
Arrogance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 11:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
DNF Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-29-2009 11:51 AM
iTrader: (61)
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 525
DNF$: 361
Location: Italy
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Arrogance View Post
it's almost a right of passage for new domainers to get that email
heh not only new domainers...... i am getting at least monthly since 3 months


click55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 11:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wordpress Guru
 
tonyfloyd's Avatar
 
Name: Tony
Last Online: Today 07:41 AM
iTrader: (58)
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,499
DNF$: 10,787
Location: New York
Country:


Scum..oops....I mean SCAM....with a capital "S"...
__________________

Web Design | Italian Recipes | Keyword Links
tonyfloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 11:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Amms.com
 
tristanperry's Avatar
 
Name: Tristan Perry
Last Online: Today 01:36 PM
iTrader: (50)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,525
DNF$: 5,378
Location: Wales, UK
Country:


Funnily enough I've never once received one of those e-mails despite owning 100s of domains through the years and having been in domaining for well over 2 years.
__________________
Devoted Hosting
High Quality Shared And Reseller Hosting
cPanel, 24/7 support, 99.9% uptime guaranteed
tristanperry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 04:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 01:16 PM
iTrader: (24)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 880
DNF$: 0


scam....and quite amazing tristan that you never got any.
__________________
buying lll.ca and generics. PM list and prices
victornumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 05:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Name: James
Last Online: Today 11:21 AM
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 404
DNF$: 2,010
Location: London
Country:


yup, scam... very old one too, although the first time i received one of those emails, it almost caught me out until I checked here!
__________________
for any photoshop projects you have, I can assist. Go to www.photoshopclinic.com for more.
buymydomainuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 01:56 AM   #12 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Duncan's Avatar
 
Name: Andy Laws
Last Online: Today 05:32 AM
iTrader: (82)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3,759
DNF$: 1,186
Location: North Carolina
Country:


Quote:
Funnily enough I've never once received one of those e-mails despite owning 100s of domains through the years and having been in domaining for well over 2 years.
I think they might go after domainers who post in "Appraisal" forums on popular domain boards.
__________________
TopicTown.com - Earn $0.02 per post - register today!
Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 04:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
Amms.com
 
tristanperry's Avatar
 
Name: Tristan Perry
Last Online: Today 01:36 PM
iTrader: (50)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,525
DNF$: 5,378
Location: Wales, UK
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Duncan View Post
I think they might go after domainers who post in "Appraisal" forums on popular domain boards.
That's a good point; would make sense
__________________
Devoted Hosting
High Quality Shared And Reseller Hosting
cPanel, 24/7 support, 99.9% uptime guaranteed
tristanperry is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com