 | Welcome to Dnforum.com
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast and simple so please, join our community today!
If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. |  |
04-01-2008, 02:32 AM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | Domain Queen
Name: Victoria Last Online: Today 01:57 AM Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 283
DNF$: 4,905 Location: Colorado
Country: | Selling to Foreign Countries I'm looking for advice on handling financial transactions when selling to someone in a different country.
I am in the U.S. and have had an inquiry about a domain name from a company in Australia. I would like to be able to offer a proposal on how to handle the finance and transfer.
I would like to keep it as simple and uncomplicated as possible.
Thanks in advance.
Best,
Victoria
__________________ DubaiWorkVisa.com, MisterFranchise.com, TrueHouseValue.com, FindMedicalAdvice.com, GuiltFreeFood.com, FinancesMadeEasy.com, OneCalorieCola.com, YourForexMarket.com, TopDesignerShoes.com |
| |
04-01-2008, 02:51 AM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | DNF Newbie
Last Online: Yesterday 10:32 PM Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 106
DNF$: 3,171 | escrow.com . Good luck!)
__________________ Link.pro Young.pro Broadcast.pro Contact.pro Management.pro Light.pro Super.pro Premium.pro Winner.pro Freelance.pro Lottery.pro Submit.pro Ride.pro Keno.pro Picture.pro Crew.pro Rich.pro |
| |
04-01-2008, 07:41 AM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Veteran Member
Name: Joe Honan Last Online: Yesterday 08:43 PM Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,450
DNF$: 2,637 Location: Melbourne Australia
Country: | Never trust an Australian |
| |
04-01-2008, 03:55 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | Domain Queen
Name: Victoria Last Online: Today 01:57 AM Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 283
DNF$: 4,905 Location: Colorado
Country: | As it turns out, I replied with a price and he responded accepting the price.
Then he said I needed to get it appraised....
I looked at the headers on his e-mail, and it came through Russia.
So, I looked up the Australian company he claims to be Vice President of and could not find his name anywhere on the web site, though 7 other staff members are listed.
I wrote to the most senior one, asking if this guy is on their staff and telling him I suspect the guy is perpetrating frauds under their company name.
I'm waiting to hear a reply, but I suspect I am right.
__________________ DubaiWorkVisa.com, MisterFranchise.com, TrueHouseValue.com, FindMedicalAdvice.com, GuiltFreeFood.com, FinancesMadeEasy.com, OneCalorieCola.com, YourForexMarket.com, TopDesignerShoes.com |
| |
04-01-2008, 04:14 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
| | Wonder
Last Online: Yesterday 04:26 PM Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 63
DNF$: 181 Location: Earth
Country: | *looks at the calendar and chuckles at the people who took this seriously*
Unless I'm totally off the ball, this just sounds like a typical appraisal scam to me.
__________________ I know who he is and he ain't no King. |
| |
04-01-2008, 04:23 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Domain Queen
Name: Victoria Last Online: Today 01:57 AM Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 283
DNF$: 4,905 Location: Colorado
Country: | Yes, I am sure it is an appraisal scam.
I have made sure that the company he pretends to represent and the web host with fake forum links on their servers (that he uses to verify his legitimacy) are aware that he is using their names and services to perpetrate fraud.
That is the best I can do.
__________________ DubaiWorkVisa.com, MisterFranchise.com, TrueHouseValue.com, FindMedicalAdvice.com, GuiltFreeFood.com, FinancesMadeEasy.com, OneCalorieCola.com, YourForexMarket.com, TopDesignerShoes.com |
| |
04-01-2008, 04:52 PM
|
#7 (permalink)
| | Cyberspace warrior
Name: Kate Last Online: 07-02-2008 05:14 AM Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,695
DNF$: 10,137 Location: Wonderland
Country: | It's the domain appraisal scam. They are not interested in buying, they just want you to purchase an appraisal and you will not hear from them after.
I guess it comes from mtu.ru (dial up in Russia).
__________________ ShopNames.com - Quality domain names at discount rates PM me for a SedoPro endorsement code |
| |
04-01-2008, 08:44 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Name: (/ _ \) Last Online: Yesterday 09:50 PM Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,009
DNF$: 10 Location: Texan living in Japan
Country: | i think you just answered your own question. if you have any doubt, then go with that feeling. If the rich guy wanted to buy the name (no appraisal, thats his job), then surely he could afford a visit and vacation where you are 
__________________ >>> | www.FlashMap.jp | <<< The First Interactive Mobile Flash Map for Mobile Devices |
| | |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| | | | All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 AM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com
|