Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Gold Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    14
    DNF$
    221
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    221
    Donate  

    This smells a bit but I can't (yet) see the scam

    Maybe someone else has experience with the following received by one of my Hosting service clients (name redacted). I'm pretty sure it's a scam but I can't say why. Anyone?

    Subject: Internet Copyright of REDACTED (To Principal)
    Importance: High

    Dear President/CEO,

    Hello!Sorry to trouble you!
    We are a domain name registration service company in HongKong, which mainly deal with international company's domain name registration and disputing in Asia.On the Nov 17, 2009, we received an application formally from Jinmeng Investment Co., Ltd,who applied for the Internet trademark: "REDACTED" and some domain names relevant to this trademark from our organization.

    According to our procedures and in order to protect your intellectual property rights, we need to send this email to the original company for confirming the actual relationship with this company.If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other motivation to register these domain names and probably want to do some cybersquatting. Now we have postponed this issue and have not proceeded their registration,In order not to confuse registering these domain names,Please contact us Asap.

    PS:If you are not in charge of this matter,please transfer this email to appropriate dept.

    Best Regards,

    Cary

    Web: www.asiadm.org
    Tel: 00852-95660496

    Fax: 00852-30197872

    Mail: cary@cnsknet.cn
    The first red flag is the oh so sincere preemptive intention to prevent cybersquatting. Like this is something every registrar does. And like a Chinese company has their panties in a twist to "protect your intellectual property right." Sure.

  2. #2
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    exxe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    1,251
    DNF$
    2,785
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,785
    Donate  
    I have received few emails like that. It's a scam.
    ...

  3. #3
    Internet Entrepreneur
    David G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    6,002
    Blog Entries
    144
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    3,467
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,467
    Donate  
    I have been getting those email for ages. Looked into it once and believe it's a scam attempt using alleged trademarks as a weapon to get you to reg alternate extensions of names you already own (especially .cn) by a high priced foreign registrar.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    chrisb72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    270
    DNF$
    1,414
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,414
    Donate  
    yep me too TRASH
    iInvested.com / Sawthat.com / LawyerZone.com

  5. #5
    DNF Member
    stewie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,099
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    1,216
    Bank
    488,356
    Total DNF$
    489,572
    Donate  
    its junk...delete

    .
    Buying .ca domains pm with pricing, will reply ..., thx
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . WebSite Developer Wanted!!! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com