DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Beginners and Newbies
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2009, 01:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
MAllie's Avatar
 
Name: Monica
Last Online: Today 07:58 AM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 706
DNF$: 7,200
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Country:


Is this spam?

I've just received this, unlike any of the other spam emails I've received before in connection with my domain names. Is this something that should concern me or is it just another form of spam? I have boysingreen.com, net & info & all four with 'the' before it. 'Boys in Green' is how the Irish football team is referred to, and I'm making a mini-site for one of the names soon.



Dear Sir/Madam 2009-10-2

We are a internet service (software development, website design and development, wifi network works to promote the protection of brands, search engine optimization, etc.) company in China,

Several days ago we received a formal application submited by Robert Jiang who wanted to use the keyword "boysingreen" to register the Internet Brand and with

suffix .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/ .asia/ domain names.

After our initial checking through Internet , we found that the keyword "boysingreen" to be applied for registration is same as your keyword.Accordingly,before we finish his registration,we would like to get your final decision about this,whether you mind his registration,if you believe his registration would affect your bussiness and produce conflict,then we could give your priority to register them,as the keyword is first used by your company.However,if you do not think so,please advise of that and then we will finish his registration.

For proceeding the next step, Please contact us by Fax ,Telephone or Email as soon as possible. Under the circumstance of no your reply during the next 5 working days ,we will consider you to give it up and finish his registration.

Yours sincerely

Emma

Checking Department
Tel: 86 513 85330968
Fax: 86 513 80260106
Email:Emma@wifint.cn
Website: www.wifint.cn
Mail No.:2565193


__________________
My Portfolio
MAllie is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 10-01-2009, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
 
zurc.net's Avatar
 
Name: Mike C.
Last Online: Today 02:49 AM
iTrader: (13)
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,049
DNF$: 60
Location: Florida
Country:

Send a message via AIM to zurc.net Send a message via Skype™ to zurc.net

I think they are just trying to get you to buy them in all those extensions as well. I received a similar email but put them on my spam list. I also get A LOT of letters like this in the mail, I just toss them.
__________________

Offers good for 24 hours...
zurc.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 01:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Rick
Last Online: 11-18-2009 06:10 PM
iTrader: (24)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 505
DNF$: 1,173
Location: Oregon
Country:


Known scam - there are several other posts here on DNF about this
__________________
SpookyEyes.com - wholesale halloween, theatrical, and rave contact lenses.
2gajgops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
DNF Member
 
stewie's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 07:07 PM
iTrader: (46)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,115
DNF$: 29
Location: Canada
Country:


...I just delete them.
__________________
.
.
.

Buying LLL.ca & LLLL.com /generic domains, pm w/pricing...thx
stewie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 03:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
MAllie's Avatar
 
Name: Monica
Last Online: Today 07:58 AM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 706
DNF$: 7,200
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Country:


Thanks, guys. That's brilliant. I must admit it's the first time I've come across this and I must have missed the relevant threads on the forum, but I had an inkling it was some sort of spam scam.
__________________
My Portfolio
MAllie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 04:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
meganerd's Avatar
 
Name: Tia Wood
Last Online: Today 01:18 AM
iTrader: (75)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,607
DNF$: 210
Location: Missouri
Country:



I got the same for one of my domains.
__________________
MY BLOG | Parking & PPC Alternative
Graphic Designer & Web Developer, yes. But overall, I am an artist. Give me a mouse and I'll show you art.
meganerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com