

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #21 (permalink) |
| The Evil Mod Name: Ed Last Online: Yesterday 10:17 PM iTrader: (36) Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,124
DNF$: 151 Location: South Florida
Country: | General rule of thumb someone who is truly interested in your domain won't care for an appraisal. They'll already have a price range and usually start negotiations from the bottom (and the seller has their price range and they usually start at the top).
__________________ Get a Parked.com account today! What's on Draggar's mind? Find out at http://www.draggar.net I'm always looking for dog breed domains |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #22 (permalink) |
| Name: Petros Last Online: Today 03:33 AM iTrader: (84) Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3,620
DNF$: 1,982 Location: Czech Republic
Country: | Here is the process of this scam, next time you see any of these signs you should stop negotiations (or not start them at all) 1. He will contact you usually pretending to be a CEO of a company, showing very much interest in a name. 2. You reply, he may reply back, he will usually mention an appraisal as a way of establishing a sales price, at this point, he may or may not give you directions on where to find a "trustworthy" appraisal service. 3. In his 3rd email he will definitely suggest what he considers trustworthy appraisal services (if he hasnt done so in his 2nd email), and he will do it in a rather clever way. He will not suggest one direcly, but he will give you a link to a fake forum thread, where people supposedly discuss about domain appraisal services (usually the ones leading the conversation have usernames that evoke trust, like Dr. Holmes etc). In that fake thread, they will mention a few of the usual services like Sedo, but also talk about some other services you have never heard of and the purpose of the entire thread is to make you believe that these other services are in fact better than sedo and are as trustworthy as such a service can get. These sites are operated by the scammers, and if you fall into this scam you will order an appraisal, they might or might not reply with one, but the important thing is that the buyer will never get back to you after that. His goal was just to make you pay them $40 or so for the appraisal. Here is an example of one of the many fake threads they use : http://discussnames.007sites.com/Archive/703581.htm Notice how they promote http://www.DomainExplorer.org , which is their scam service
__________________ FREE SEO Course From The Guys Who Practically Invented SEO. Click Here Follow Me On Twitter: Click Here ![]() Last edited by petrosc; 07-05-2009 at 02:32 PM.. |
| | |
| | #23 (permalink) |
| Last Online: 11-06-2009 10:12 AM iTrader: (86) Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,448
DNF$: 3,010 Location: San Diego, CA
Country: | Like Herpes, the appraisal scam just doesn't go away... it started AGAIN today: -----Original Message----- From: Kevin Hill [mailto:2kevinhill@gmail.com] Sent: Wednesday, July 29, 2009 2:23 AM To: dns Subject: Offer for CARDSFORHER.COM We are interested to buy your domain name CARDSFORHER.COM and offer to buy it from you for 80% of the appraised market value. As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies: - fleos.com <<== SCAM - sedo.com If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us. As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name. We appreciate your business, Yours truly, Kevin Hill |
| | |
| | #24 (permalink) |
| DNF Member Name: Brock N Last Online: Yesterday 04:56 PM iTrader: (126) Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,328
DNF$: 572 Location: IL | 80% dang... he only told me 70% We are interested to buy your domain name [removed] and offer to buy it from you for 70% of the appraised market value. As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies: fleos.com sedo.com If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us. As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow.com for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name. We appreciate your business, Yours truly, Brian Harris
__________________ Geektronics.com |
| | |
| | #27 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member
Country: | These scams will last until people finally understand that appraisals have no scientific ground at all. It is all between the ears - a matter of belief. Nobody is obliged to accept other people's opinion Just too bad that the IRS believes in domain appraisals ...
__________________ On the Net since 1993. |
| | |
| | #28 (permalink) |
| Last Online: 11-06-2009 10:12 AM iTrader: (86) Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,448
DNF$: 3,010 Location: San Diego, CA
Country: | The scammer has now sent 30 more of these: -----Original Message----- From: Domain Resale [mailto:resaledomain@gmail.com] Sent: Monday, August 10, 2009 11:42 AM To: Subject: Domain name Dear Sir, we are interested to buy your domain name As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies: sedo.com pddomains.com accuratedomains.com If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us. As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use Paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow.com for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name. We appreciate your business, Domain Resale |
| | |
| | #29 (permalink) |
| DNF Addict Last Online: Yesterday 08:51 PM iTrader: (13) Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,789
DNF$: 2,565 Location: NYC | I got few emails from B. Phillips of Domain Resale last week. This is my reply :-- I have been in domain business since 1999 . I think appraisal of a domain is what a buyer is ready to pay for it. I do NOT waste my time and money on paid domain appraisals. You are free to have my domain appraised at your cost and make me offer through escrow.com or sedo.com after deducting the money spent by you on appraisal. I see that pddomains.com was registered on 2009-08-07 !!! Wow !!! So obviously you are the owner of accuratedomains.com . Correct ? Regards
__________________ Bra.info, Figure.info,Genetics.us,Genome.us, Biometrics.us,Nanotech.us, HollywoodTimes.com, DNAcode.com,GeneticTechnology.com are on sale. |
| | |
| | #30 (permalink) |
| Last Online: 11-06-2009 10:12 AM iTrader: (86) Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,448
DNF$: 3,010 Location: San Diego, CA
Country: | I'm thinking about running a scam on the guy... maybe we can issue challenges here. How about a contest to see who can get him to deposit some money in Patty Similien's account? |
| | |
| | #31 (permalink) |
| 41 LLL.nets For $35k! Last Online: Yesterday 09:20 AM iTrader: (318) Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,159
DNF$: 18,926 Location: Hong Kong
Country: | Tell him to pay for the appraisal himself, then deduct that cost of the appraisal fee from the final appraisal price, and sell the name to him. Then if he even replies, then you have won the lottery. Yes, that is the situation, and the probability that he has made you a legitimate offer.
__________________ |
| | |
| | #32 (permalink) |
| Name: Chris Last Online: Yesterday 12:20 PM iTrader: (64) Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,505
DNF$: 760 Location: A95.com
Country: | I would desperately love to bring this scumbag down. I am 99% certain that this appraisal scam is run by the operators of accuratedomains.com This is a double whammy for me as I fear their name is confusingly similar to my own, (obviously legitimate) domain services company, which you can see in my sig. If anybody can think of a way to stop this spammer from preying on the naive and dragging this industry into further disrepute I would love to help in any way I can. I wrote a review on Alexa for their company a couple of days ago after receiving the 4th or 5th one in the last couple of days. I always tell them exactly what I think of them if I bother replying to their email. Can somebody get around the whois privacy to expose this piece of shit?
__________________ FOR SALE NOW: W-U.com $6k |
| | |
| | #33 (permalink) |
| Last Online: 11-06-2009 10:12 AM iTrader: (86) Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,448
DNF$: 3,010 Location: San Diego, CA
Country: | It's a scam. He's sent me over 100 of those emails in the last 2 days. I've forwarded a bunch to abuse@gmail.com to get his gmail account killed, but I think lots of people have to do that before they will do anything. |
| | |
| | #34 (permalink) |
| Name: Chris Last Online: Yesterday 12:20 PM iTrader: (64) Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,505
DNF$: 760 Location: A95.com
Country: | codymecklenburg@hotmail.com is the email he uses at alexa. Anybody got any more info about this person?
__________________ FOR SALE NOW: W-U.com $6k |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |