This must be an IDN.
What character set is it in?
Can you show us the punycode?
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!CC.com
I won it for $781.00
This must be an IDN.
What character set is it in?
Can you show us the punycode?
It is an IDN indeed.. I hope you were aware of this:
xn--c-6tb.com (сc.com)
No...is there a problem with this?
IDNs are Internation Domain Names
They allow you to register characters of almost any kind.. for instance even a wingding character that looks like a telephone can be registered. The domain is not the standard letter "C" from the English alphabet... therefor typing CC.com on your English keyboard is not the same URL as the one you just bought.
Yes, I hope you knew too. Can you post the link to the eBay ad?Originally Posted by NameYourself
cc.com in ASCII would likely be priced north of $1 million.
You own an Internationalized Domain Name in Cyrillic (Russian) -- which makes it worth about $200.
Last edited by vtrader; 03-04-2006 at 04:15 PM.
Well then he didn't sell as per eBay's rules. He had a "Quick Apprasal" of $7K to $10K; and its only worth $200.00?????.......If its really only worth that I'm screwd...lol...or my wife is...shes the one who bid on it.
Does it worth that much? Since there will be no type in(IMO) and hard to let ppl know it is half english half russianOriginally Posted by vtrader
if he got a quick apprasal for 7k to 10k... how would you get it for 700 buck...Originally Posted by rh287
Last edited by AHKIPSLIPKNOT666; 03-04-2006 at 04:27 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Yeah and ad says it gets daily traffic. I am going to research this and if I see everything as you guys know I'm going to pull my bid due to misrepresatation. (The Apprasl). He can always offer it to the next highest bidder...$10.00 differance.
did u said you won the the name? if not , you shold pull it asap...IMO it doens't worth 200
I won it for $781.00so?I'm going to pull my bid due to misrepresatation.
you own the name or not?
The ebay auction clearly states:
Even the title saysDomain Name: cc.com
IDN Name: xn--c-6tb.com (сc.com)
Domain Registrar : DomainSite.com
Domain Expires : 2007-01-20 12:47:16
You are bidding on an amazing 2 letter IDN domain name. This name receives traffic daily, and is very brandable. This name is short, simple to remember, and can be used in any marketplace. Below is the Swift appraisal for the name for $7,000 - $10,000. You can setup a free domainsite account if you do not have one for the transfer.
Remember this is an IDN name, when international users type in cc.com this is where they land at this IDN domain. Good traffic.Those appraisals are notoriously unreliable with inflated amounts. You should never go by what someone else says it's worth but the auction wasn't unfairly described. All the info is there, you just have to read it.CC.COM - RARE 2 Letter IDN Domain Name - Traffic - NR
He'll receive some traffic, as almost all Russian IDN receive traffic. But it's for the most part Russian traffic.
Actually on january 28 this name was sold on ebay by the same seller for $3828.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1
How much does it cost to set one of these IDN domains up?
This could be a great racket...
I did manage one good thing today (I think)...I reg....DNSnatch.com...hopefully someone will give me an idea of what its woth on the apprasal board.
Last edited by rh287; 03-04-2006 at 05:56 PM.
I don't think this name will get any traffic. It's an English 'c' and a Cyrillic 'c'... who that heck would type that in? IMO, this name is good for only one thing... scamming.Originally Posted by vtrader
Nothing to see here...
SCAMMING is right...check this email I just got from some guy...
Activity with lqqksam7 (last 90 days):
- I have bid on 0 items from lqqksam7
lqqksam7( 19)
Positive Feedback: 100%
Member Since: Nov-11-04
Location: CA, United States
Registered On: www.ebay.com
COngratulation on cc .com,I own www.i.Com IDN
what do you think it is worth?
Just trying to reinforce my commitment to buy I guess...
Becareful, these phishing domains are 'illegal'. Verisign has stopped allowing people to register such domain and may cancel existing ones - they have done so in the past, if you asked fellow IDNers.
Thanks alot all...without your great advice I would have paid for the CC whater-the-hell it is, all the while thinking I got the deal of the Century...
Thanks again
If it not phising, it state clearly in the auction detail it is an IDN name. There are no trick or anythingBecareful, these phishing domains are 'illegal'. Verisign has stopped allowing people to register such domain and may cancel existing ones - they have done so in the past, if you asked fellow IDNers.
huh, so you don't own the name, right? Nice start for a DNF newbie....Thanks alot all...without your great advice I would have paid for the CC whater-the-hell it is, all the while thinking I got the deal of the Century...
Bookmarks