Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Domain Name Legal Issues > Unresolved Forum Sales
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2009, 04:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-08-2009 04:52 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 70
DNF$: 45


OED.net

OED.net

A well matured and tasty looking 3 letter

BIN: £1.5k
philiporchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 09-13-2009, 02:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 10-08-2009 04:52 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 70
DNF$: 45


I was brokering the sale of OED.net.

After posting on DN Forum, someone contacted the owner of the domain directly and agreed a sale. No problem there, as I'd have received payment regardless of how a sale went through.

The owner, however, transferred the name prior to payment, and no payment was ever made. OED.net was stolen. The email address and names (all probably made up) were jahad mustafa email : mydomainworld@gmail.com.

We have a domain lawyer, but this is fraud. Can anyone recommend the best course of action.

Thanks, Phil Orchard
philiporchard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-17-2009 06:44 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
DNF$: 105


trust and escrow

I am the (ex-) owner of the domain in question. Over the years, I'm sure we've all waived the process of escrow for people we know and trust - and for people in the industry who have a good reputation.
However, foolishly, in this case I simply trusted a friendly stranger without a Net presence. The fraudster in question has now sold the domain to an innocent third party in Portugal whom I have no doubt purchased the domain in good faith.

Anyhow, this is just to alert people on the forum to be cautious about any dealings with the party below:


ADMIN CONTACT INFO
jahad mostafa
901 - B1 - Al Naumiyah Towers - Kuwait Stajm
ajman
ajman
8834
AE
Phone: +971.4425004
Email Address: vb2deal@gmail.com

[the contact details are taken from a the domain rafiei.com with which he is associated. I've belatedly done a little detective work]

He used the email address
jahad mostafa <mydomainworld@gmail.com>
when contacting me.
Sadder and Wiser Dave
davidpearce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 07:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Gotta love the &amp;amp;quot;Pink&amp;amp;quo t;
 
Pink Misfit's Avatar
 
Name: Melissa
Last Online: Yesterday 04:08 AM
iTrader: (74)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,839
DNF$: 4,130
Location: in a house
Country:


Why would anyone push the domain before payment?
__________________
Check Out My Site
Currently doing logos for $25.


Pink Misfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 07:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Making Everything Click
 
Focus's Avatar
 
Name: Chris
Last Online: Today 11:43 AM
iTrader: (111)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9,402
DNF$: 15,330
Location: Dirty South
Country:




Brilliant..
Focus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 07:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Gotta love the &amp;amp;quot;Pink&amp;amp;quo t;
 
Pink Misfit's Avatar
 
Name: Melissa
Last Online: Yesterday 04:08 AM
iTrader: (74)
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,839
DNF$: 4,130
Location: in a house
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Focus View Post
Brilliant..

Really doesn't make sense does it? I mean I am sorry that he got screwed over but why would anyone in their right mind push a domain first much less to someone they don't know.
__________________
Check Out My Site
Currently doing logos for $25.


Pink Misfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 07:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-17-2009 06:44 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
DNF$: 105


I've used escrow.com in the past - but it has been expensive and has pitfalls of its own.
So I normally prefer to trust people - perhaps not always wisely, but until now without any problems. Deals get done quicker.
davidpearce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 08:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
theinvestor's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 03:08 PM
iTrader: (34)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,293
DNF$: 0
Location: Toronto, Canada
Country:


I am not so sure how it's expensive... for a name you were planning to sell for $1500 ...it would cost you $50 for escrow ..which you shouldn't be paying anyway. The buyer should pay it.
theinvestor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 08:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 07:49 PM
iTrader: (394)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,903
DNF$: 4,071
Location: USA
Country:




Dave, also see this post where the same email turns up in another recent fraud:

http://www.dnforum.com/f26/sold-doma...ml#post1744151


Quote:
Originally Posted by davidpearce View Post
I am the (ex-) owner of the domain in question. Over the years, I'm sure we've all waived the process of escrow for people we know and trust - and for people in the industry who have a good reputation.
However, foolishly, in this case I simply trusted a friendly stranger without a Net presence. The fraudster in question has now sold the domain to an innocent third party in Portugal whom I have no doubt purchased the domain in good faith.

Anyhow, this is just to alert people on the forum to be cautious about any dealings with the party below:


ADMIN CONTACT INFO
jahad mostafa
901 - B1 - Al Naumiyah Towers - Kuwait Stajm
ajman
ajman
8834
AE
Phone: +971.4425004
Email Address: vb2deal@gmail.com

[the contact details are taken from a the domain rafiei.com with which he is associated. I've belatedly done a little detective work]

He used the email address
jahad mostafa <mydomainworld@gmail.com>
when contacting me.
Sadder and Wiser Dave
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
My Countdown Counting down to: Snapnames rebate hitting my mailbox
81 days 3 hours 58 minutes
Acro is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-17-2009 06:44 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
DNF$: 105


Quote:
Originally Posted by Acro View Post
Dave, also see this post where the same email turns up in another recent fraud:

http://www.dnforum.com/f26/sold-doma...ml#post1744151

Thanks. The new owner Oliver Hoger informs me that he paid $550 to the fraudster. I'm not an expert in these things, but surely there must be a "money trail" back to someone's bank account? Are there any skilled fraudbusters present on the forum???
davidpearce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 07:37 AM   #11 (permalink)
 
PRED's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 03:38 PM
iTrader: (118)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,961
DNF$: 1,069
Country:




think he has popped up again, Vik spotted the domain again
http://mobility.mobi/showthread.php?...d=1#post129092
__________________
dental recruitment | dental practices |
PRED is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com