Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    JuniperPark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,154
    DNF$
    5,978
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,978
    Donate  

    Sedo auction SPAM -- now out of control

    The sedo auction spam is now getting out of control.

    At first is was about once a week, then daily, and now several spams per day, mostly for .CN domains. My requests to remove me from the spam lists have been ignored.

    I have now filed FOUR complaints against the spammers, which sedo is "looking into". The spam has not stopped.

    If you are getting this spam, report it to Sedo so they can terminate and ban those sellers.
    The only domain reseller BRAVE enough to post prices: TheNameStore.com ][

  2. #2
    Dances With Dogs
    Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PortaPotty
    Posts
    17,859
    Country

    Trinidad Tobago
    DNF$
    23,019
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    23,019
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by JuniperPark View Post
    The sedo auction spam is now getting out of control.

    At first is was about once a week, then daily, and now several spams per day, mostly for .CN domains. My requests to remove me from the spam lists have been ignored.

    I have now filed FOUR complaints against the spammers, which sedo is "looking into". The spam has not stopped.

    If you are getting this spam, report it to Sedo so they can terminate and ban those sellers.
    I get numerous, perhaps a dozen or more a week, regarding the .cn counterparts.

    What is the connection with Sedo?

    "Just a lot of embarrassment, embarrassed to be part of group of domainers who would do this to their fellow man.",
    Condemnation of Mobee boys and investors by our precious Mother Theresa of Domaindom

  3. #3
    JuniperPark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,154
    DNF$
    5,978
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,978
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc Com View Post
    I get numerous, perhaps a dozen or more a week, regarding the .cn counterparts.

    What is the connection with sedo?
    They are promoting their auctions at sedo.

    I am demanding Sedo enforce its TOS and cancel and ban those user accounts. They have ignored all warnings to stop spamming.
    The only domain reseller BRAVE enough to post prices: TheNameStore.com ][

  4. #4
    Dances With Dogs
    Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PortaPotty
    Posts
    17,859
    Country

    Trinidad Tobago
    DNF$
    23,019
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    23,019
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by JuniperPark View Post
    They are promoting their auctions at sedo.

    I am demanding sedo enforce its TOS and cancel and ban those user accounts. They have ignored all warnings to stop spamming.
    Is Sedo supplying them a list of member's names?

    Sorry, I am still missing the connection.

    If you would care to explain how you came about this conclusion I am all ears (eyes).

    "Just a lot of embarrassment, embarrassed to be part of group of domainers who would do this to their fellow man.",
    Condemnation of Mobee boys and investors by our precious Mother Theresa of Domaindom

  5. #5
    JuniperPark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,154
    DNF$
    5,978
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,978
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc Com View Post
    Is Sedo supplying them a list of member's names?

    Sorry, I am still missing the connection.

    If you would care to explain how you came about this conclusion I am all ears (eyes).
    =====
    Hello

    The domain name www.BREASTIMPLANTS.NET.CN is available for purchase. Since you own this name in another extension, we thought this name would be of interest to you.

    We price is at www.4.cn for $800 ; at www.sedo.com for $900
    or www.Escrow.com at $1000 ! We could finish the transaction through any a international Domain trade agency !

    Thanks

    Regards

    liu
    My mail: domainsale@lqqqq.com
    ====
    Hello

    The domain name www.DIVORCEDOCTOR.CN is available for purchase. Since you own this name in another extension, we thought this name would be of interest to you.

    We price is at www.4.cn for $800 ; at www.Sedo.com for $900 or www.Escrow.com at $1000 ! We could finish the transaction through any a international Domain trade agency !

    Thanks

    Regards

    liu
    My mail: domainsprice@gmail.com
    ===

    I received both of these in the last HOUR.

    See the Sedo clue?
    The only domain reseller BRAVE enough to post prices: TheNameStore.com ][

  6. #6
    Domain Magnate™
    DomainMagnate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    DnMagnate.com
    Posts
    4,082
    Follow DomainMagnate On Twitter Add DomainMagnate on Facebook
    DNF$
    32,159
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    32,159
    Donate  
    4.cn looks like a rather big domain marketplace.. never heard of it before.
    Visit my blog

  7. #7
    Dances With Dogs
    Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PortaPotty
    Posts
    17,859
    Country

    Trinidad Tobago
    DNF$
    23,019
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    23,019
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by JuniperPark View Post

    I received both of these in the last HOUR.

    See the sedo clue?
    OH ****!

    So sorry.

    Yes, now I do.

    I get these emails all the time. It has gotten to the point I never get beyond the first line.


    Damn, they must have hundreds of people that get all the WHOIS for every name.

    "Just a lot of embarrassment, embarrassed to be part of group of domainers who would do this to their fellow man.",
    Condemnation of Mobee boys and investors by our precious Mother Theresa of Domaindom

  8. #8
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    denny007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,507
    DNF$
    11,511
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    11,511
    Donate  
    I forward each of these spams to my account manager. Everyone should do same.
    I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
    ThankYouDHL.com

  9. #9
    Bloody Hell
    Acro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    28,668
    Country

    Holy See
    DNF$
    15,583
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    15,583
    Donate  
    These all come from the same dufus that registers .cn of .com's you might have listed at sedo.

    DomainGang.com - Digital Entertainment for Domainers
    Acroplex - Web & Graphics
    Acro.net - My Blog

  10. #10
    JuniperPark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    3,154
    DNF$
    5,978
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,978
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by fast1 View Post
    do you know whos spamming? the chinese?
    The "reply" address is always different and almost always invalid. The email wording is always about the same (in very bad English), and at the bottom is usually this:

    liu
    My mail: domainsale@lqqqq.com

    Sometimes that email address changes, but it's always a recently registered domain with obviously fake whois data.

    So only sedo has their "most real" ID and bank account info... that's where to hit them so it counts.
    The only domain reseller BRAVE enough to post prices: TheNameStore.com ][

  11. #11
    Dances With Dogs
    Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PortaPotty
    Posts
    17,859
    Country

    Trinidad Tobago
    DNF$
    23,019
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    23,019
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by JuniperPark View Post
    Sometimes that email address changes, but it's always a recently registered domain with obviously fake whois data.
    I honestly get so many of them that I don't even open them. That is what caught me off guard with your post.

    These come by the bundle on some days. No matter what I have, if it is a .com or net, I should buy the valuable .cn.

    Impossible to block as well due to all the changing emails.

    "Just a lot of embarrassment, embarrassed to be part of group of domainers who would do this to their fellow man.",
    Condemnation of Mobee boys and investors by our precious Mother Theresa of Domaindom

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com