DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Gold Forums > TLD Discussion > .ca ccTLD
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2009, 02:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
 
garyrcanuck's Avatar
 
Name: Gary R Campbell
Last Online: 11-15-2009 09:30 PM
iTrader: (28)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 478
DNF$: 744
Location: VancouverIsland
Country:


CIRA refuses to transfer emusic.ca....

If this article has been previosly posted I apologize

Feb/10/09| CIRA Refuses to Transfer 'emusic.ca' to EMusic

In the recent case of EMusic.com Inc, v Mogual Arts Inc.



In the recent case of EMusic.com Inc. v Mogul Arts Inc. (Nov.2008), the Canadian Internet Registration Authority (CIRA) panel refused to order the transfer of ‘emusic.ca’ to the Complainant, EMusic.com on grounds that it failed to demonstrate that the domain was registered in bad faith. EMusic.com (“Complainant”), a U.S. based operator of an online music store since 1985, is the owner of the domain ‘emusic.com’. It has also owned the Canadian trademark ‘EMUSIC’ since in 1999. The registrant of the domain in question, Mogul Arts Inc., (“Mogul”) registered the domain ‘emusic.ca’ in 2001 under CIRA, after the launch of the Complainant’s website and filing date of the trademark but prior to its trademark registration date. Mogul Arts Inc. used the domain as an active web site intermittently from 2001 to 2007.

The CIRA panel found that the Complainant had met all of the elements as required by the Canadian Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (CDRP). It held that that Mogul had no legitimate interest in the domain name in question and the domain was in fact confusingly similar to that of the Complainant. However, the Complainant failed to establish the third requirement of bad faith. The CIRA policy defines a bad faith registration as a domain name registration made for the purpose of sale to someone who has rights to a trademark that is confusingly similar to the domain name; to prevent someone who has rights to a trademark from registering it as a dot-ca domain name; and/or to disrupt the business of a competitor who has rights to a trade-mark or trade name. The Panel noted that Mogul Arts had refused to sell the domain name to the Complainant at any price, despite an offer to buy the domain for $500. Furthermore, there was no evidence that Mogul Arts knew of the Complainant or its online music business at the time of registering the domain name. Lastly, the EMUSIC mark was not registered as a trademark in Canada and the expression ‘emusic’ was generic and could belong to anyone.
__________________
OnlyPremiumDomains.com,CollateralDomains.com,DNDom ainers.com,PandemicH1N1.org,WoodPellet.ca,VirusH1N 1.ca
garyrcanuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 02-11-2009, 02:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
TheLegendaryJP's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 01:07 AM
iTrader: (35)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,165
DNF$: 6,332
Country:




Wait they said EMUSIC was not a registered tm in Canada, yet above it says they held the mark since 99?
TheLegendaryJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com