Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    msn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,102
    DNF$
    3,151
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,151
    Donate  

    CIRA Registrar selling domains at Sedo

    We made an offer for a .ca domain listed at sedo, and it was accepted, but then came a surprise: the counter-party was not the actual registrant listed in the WHOIS, but instead, their registrar!

    Has anyone seen this before?

  2. #2
    hugegrowth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    BeeCee
    Posts
    5,601
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    15,948
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    15,948
    Donate  
    So what happens next in this case? Never seen that before.
    Web traffic and best affiliate programs - http://www.Slaxo.com
    DomainReport.ca - domain tips and .ca domain blog
    @domains on Twitter - http://twitter.com/domains

  3. #3
    TheLegendaryJP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    4,270
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    11,384
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    11,384
    Donate  
    Need to know more but I would NEVER pay someone for a name they are not the registrant of, its self explanitory.


    You need to contact the registrant.

  4. #4
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    msn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,102
    DNF$
    3,151
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,151
    Donate  
    One of our people wrote an e-mail to the registrant, who has privacy turned on, but we suspect that she is possibly either a front for the registrar or is a non-qualifying registrant and thus avoiding giving an answer. She has a few hundred domains, so it would be interesting to see what they have done.

  5. #5
    TheLegendaryJP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    4,270
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    11,384
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    11,384
    Donate  
    If you use a certain registrar you can see her name and easily find her, if they own hundreds it may be they invest. Most domainers do not reply unleses receiving high offers, imo I wouldnt close this, you are admitting to knowingly buy from someone other than the owner. Now could it be they are brokers as well?

    call the registrar and get an explination.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    whitebark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,326
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    3,232
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,232
    Donate  
    Is the registrar warehousing and selling in contravention to the rules?

  7. #7
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    msn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,102
    DNF$
    3,151
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,151
    Donate  
    This is a good question. Either the registrant exists and is simply too shy to reply to the offer via e-mail, even though it is the same value as the sedo proceeds, or the registrar is using a figment of their imagination to park domains for their own account.

    Perhaps it is all very innocent, but we have already told sedo we cannot buy the domain when we know the 'seller' is not the registrant.

  8. #8
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,700
    DNF$
    7,577
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    7,577
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by msn View Post
    One of our people wrote an e-mail to the registrant, who has privacy turned on, but we suspect that she is possibly either a front for the registrar or is a non-qualifying registrant and thus avoiding giving an answer. She has a few hundred domains, so it would be interesting to see what they have done.
    So you have access to whois details for domains with privacy turned on?

  9. #9
    TheLegendaryJP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    4,270
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    11,384
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    11,384
    Donate  
    You can send messages via cira OR use xxxxxxxx.ca and get real name with a little trick

  10. #10
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    whitebark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,326
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    3,232
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,232
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by TheLegendaryJP View Post
    You can send messages via cira OR use xxxxxxxx.ca and get real name with a little trick
    Okay, what do you see when you check my JLU.ca?

  11. #11
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    CanSpace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    123
    Blog Entries
    1
    DNF$
    930
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    930
    Donate  
    This would be a big no-no... and a direct violation of CIRA's registrar agreement...
    █ CanSpace Solutions Inc - www.canspace.ca - Canada's leading .ca domain registrar.
    Register .ca domains for only $9.75 per year | TBR Specialists | CIRA Certified | Proudly Canadian

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com