Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Gold Forums > TLD Discussion > .ca ccTLD
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2009, 08:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-13-2009 01:41 PM
iTrader: (13)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 109
DNF$: 120
Location: Canada


Warning! - Email from scammer

Just got this email, lots of typos, clearly a scam, but the problem is that some inocent people will believe in it...

From @ Server Canada @
reply-to
server.management001@gmail.com

Dear webmail/mail Canada,

This message is from the the federal server and internet communication of canada to you mail.ca or webmail.ca that there will be a change of route of our server as the problem with the server is yet to be solved.We are hereby using this medium to delete all unused account so as to reduce congestion which leads to to the server misfunction.So therefore account user for we to know your account is still in function you are to reply to this message in receipt of this email NOT to get your account deactivated or deleted.Account user your requirement are listed below so act fast!

Name & Surename....................
account signup date.................
full account domain/webmail...................
username...................................
account logins/password.........
date of birth...............................
occupation/school.....................
country/nationality.................
phone number...........................


PLEASE FILL ALL AND LEAVE NO BLANK SPACE SO YOUR ACCOUNT COULD BE FILE FOR FUTURE REFRENCE.

server management!,we are poised to serve you the best!!!
__________________
HotelSearchEngine.ca - 900,000 Hotel Deals * 2 Million Consumer Reviews * 1 Single Click
DanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 07-22-2009, 08:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Yesterday 08:38 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,341
DNF$: 436
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

It's sad how many people call for scams, that are clearly scams, like this?

How many companies actually send out an EMAIL asking you for your password?
draggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 08:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
GUA
Exclusive Lifetime Member
 
GUA's Avatar
 
Name: Thomas Clowes
Last Online: Yesterday 08:37 PM
iTrader: (55)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,475
DNF$: 6,838
Location: UK
Country:


Youd have to be pretty stupid to fall for this one.
GUA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 10:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
theinvestor's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 01:07 AM
iTrader: (34)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,293
DNF$: 0
Location: Toronto, Canada
Country:


Let's assume you do fall for it...once you find out the domain was transferred out of your account. Isn't there anything that can be done? Since it was technically a stolen domain.
theinvestor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 10:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Gold Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Name: Bill Phillips
Last Online: 07-22-2009 11:44 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
DNF$: 10
Location: New Hampshire


I get them all the time from the phony irs etc: just delete them in your spam box. http://safer-network.co.uk
wphillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 11:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
bigboydog_0's Avatar
 
Name: gv
Last Online: Yesterday 11:23 AM
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 608
DNF$: 10,290
Location: kansas city
Country:

Send a message via Skype™ to bigboydog_0

wow
__________________
www.Sevendeporeldueno.com |Contract4Deed.net|HomesbyOwner.net|NationalWideMo rtgage.com|MortgageFirstSource.com|
bigboydog_0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 12:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 11:01 PM
iTrader: (7)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 197
DNF$: 110
Location: Ontario, Canada
Country:


gotta love it when companies conduct official business via gmail
Spex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 02:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 10:49 PM
iTrader: (24)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 887
DNF$: 12


yet its surprising how ppl still fall for it.
__________________
buying lll.ca and generics. PM list and prices
victornumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com