It appears you have not yet registered with our community. To register please click here...

DNforum.com - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals
 
Register Now!
Register Now for FREE!
Our records show you have not yet registered to our forums. To sign up for your FREE account INSTANTLY fill out the form below!

Username: Password: Confirm Password: E-Mail: Confirm E-Mail:  
Birthday:       I agree to forum rules 

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > General Domain Discussion
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2008, 03:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
MAllie's Avatar
 
Name: Monica
Last Online: Today 11:31 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 456
DNF$: 65
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Country:


Anyone got any idea about this email?

Earlier today I received the email below from this address: Domain Admin [cdomains37@googlemail.com]

Does anyone know who this person is? Does he/she automatically write to everyone who receives the type of offer referred to below? Is he/she some sort of anti-fraud vigilante?

I had received such an offer just a short while before, and felt it was a little creepy to get this close on its heels. I hadn't the slightest intention of clicking on anything in the first (or this email either), but I still think it's a little strange. It's almost as if this person knew the first person was emailing me.
_________________

If you receive an offer from some company to sell a .com version of your domain name, DO NOT PURCHASE IT.
.COM domain names can be deleted within 5 days after registration for a full refund. He only paid $6.42 for the .com domain name after it expired.
He is "tasting" the domain for 5 days to see if you're willing to pay around $997 for the domain name and will DELETE THE DOMAIN FOR A FULL REFUND if no one is interested.
DO NOT FALL FOR HIS SCAM!
You will be able to register the domain by yourself at any registrar company at prices generally less than $10 after 5-15 days usually (he may re-taste the domain).
DO NOT CLICK THE LINKS IN HIS E-MAIL(S) OR CONTACT HIM, SINCE HE CAN TRACK IF YOU VISITED THE SITE AND WILL KNOW THAT YOU'RE INTERESTED.
IF YOU MUST PURCHASE, DO NOT OFFER MORE THAN $100 - $150. HE WILL STILL ACCEPT IT.
No virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG - http://www.avg.com
Version: 8.0.173 / Virus Database: 270.8.0/1724 - Release Date: 14/10/2008 02:02
___________________
__________________
My Portfolio
MAllie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-15-2008, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
DNF Member
 
stewie's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 08:12 AM
iTrader: (28)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 959
DNF$: 80
Location: Canada
Country:


I get them...some good advice in it , I also get the emails they talk about... I delete them both... treat them as junk mail. thats what I do.

stewie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 03:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
Rico's Avatar
 
Name: MRD
Last Online: Today 06:04 AM
iTrader: (57)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,484
DNF$: 998
Location: Netherlands
Country:


i get a lot of that kinda mails
__________________
Rico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 03:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
MAllie's Avatar
 
Name: Monica
Last Online: Today 11:31 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 456
DNF$: 65
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Country:


Thanks, Stewie and Rico. Yes, I get a lot of the first emails, but I've never had the second one and, as I said, coming so soon after the first it felt like more than a coincidence, and I wondered if the second writer could have known about the first email and have some sort of angle. I mean, is the second email from an altruist who is just concerned for me, or has he/she got some sort of angle - maybe just that I might reply and verify the address if it's from a spammer.
__________________
My Portfolio
MAllie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 04:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
DNF Member
 
stewie's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 08:12 AM
iTrader: (28)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 959
DNF$: 80
Location: Canada
Country:


I wondered too...first time now its like ...another one... delete it

don't click on anything or responsed to it. just delete

stewie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 08:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Carter's Avatar
 
Name: Jacopo Stohr
Last Online: Today 01:03 PM
iTrader: (27)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,790
DNF$: 15,258
Location: Italy
Country:


Don't worry Monica delete it.
Carter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 08:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
MAllie's Avatar
 
Name: Monica
Last Online: Today 11:31 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 456
DNF$: 65
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Country:


Thanks, Jacopo.
__________________
My Portfolio
MAllie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 08:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Exclusive Senior Newbie
 
Johnn's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 10:40 AM
iTrader: (298)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,036
DNF$: 18,703
Location: Pennsylvania
Country:


Make a sticker and stick it on the computer:

"Do Not Click Any Link from Email"
Johnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 04:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
MAllie's Avatar
 
Name: Monica
Last Online: Today 11:31 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 456
DNF$: 65
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Country:


I agree, Johnn. I have never done so. I think that's basic security.
__________________
My Portfolio
MAllie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Last Online: 11-12-2008 07:49 AM
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 196
DNF$: 20


people always call this kind of thing a scam. i don't see how its a scam. he is running a business, and a clever one at that. he is also performing a service and letting you know the domain is available
__________________
Buying revenue and traffic domains
PokerPie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:30 AM   #11 (permalink)
DN Coyote
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Today 12:29 PM
iTrader: (24)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,878
DNF$: 180
Location: South Florida
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnn View Post
Make a sticker and stick it on the computer:

"Do Not Click Any Link from Email"
I agree but the email is right.

I receive offers for me to buy the .com of a domain that I own (once in a while offering to sell me a name I already own). 99% of the time the .com is unregistered and if I want it, I just register it.

As for the email itself, it comes from Googlemail (now known as gmail) - ignore and delete it.
__________________
Ask me about my Domain Management Tool Only $5!
What's on Draggar's mind? Find out at http://www.draggar.net
draggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 03:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
sdsinc's Avatar
 
Name: Kate
Last Online: Yesterday 05:23 PM
iTrader: (32)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,234
DNF$: 17,872
Location: 6 feet under
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by PokerPie View Post
people always call this kind of thing a scam. i don't see how its a scam. he is running a business, and a clever one at that. he is also performing a service and letting you know the domain is available
It is spam. Whatever the 'service' is, it was unsolicited.
sdsinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 04:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
Name: Craig
Last Online: Today 01:30 AM
iTrader: (7)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 407
DNF$: 2,373
Location: Las Vegas, NV 89102
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by stewie View Post
I get them...some good advice in it , I also get the emails they talk about... I delete them both... treat them as junk mail. thats what I do.
I get both of these types daily. However, I do not delete the "For Sale" emails. I simply save them into a special file and if I ever want one of them, they are always available to hand register for reg fee.
ck89102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 04:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
Onward's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 09:56 AM
iTrader: (38)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,304
DNF$: 11,484
Location: Washington DC
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by PokerPie View Post
people always call this kind of thing a scam. i don't see how its a scam. he is running a business, and a clever one at that. he is also performing a service and letting you know the domain is available
You know...I think I agree with this statement.

I actually bought a name this way and paid about $150...it was a .com which I had the .net for and would have paid 10x that (as I was going to develop the .net....I felt that it was a little creepy how I was approached, but I was very careful and I used escrow.com - even with a small transaction - got the name....and at the end of the day was very happy with the purchase.

I actually wanted a complete list of the names he was selling as there may have been some gems in there....and there were....these are the names which slip through the 'drop' cracks.
__________________
.
Onward is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 PM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com

Learn Domains
Promote Domains
Research Domains
Buy Domains
Resell Domains
Park Domains
Sell Domains
Build Domains
Host Domains
Trademark Domains
Domain Domains
manage Domains
Appraise Domains