Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Appraisal Scam

  1. #1
    SterlingDavenport.com
    Sterling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Westpoint, Tenn
    Posts
    1,147
    Blog Entries
    1
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    5,835
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,835
    Donate  

    Thumbs down Appraisal Scam

    I have recently got several emails inquiring about a couple of my names. Here is most of that:

    Email Subject: Offer to buy your domain name: *******.COM - domain name resellers

    Email Summary: Dear sir,


    we are interested to buy your domain name *******.COM and offer to buy it from you for 65% of the appraised market value.


    As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies:


    sedo.com
    *****.com
    moniker.com
    accuratedomains.com

    If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.


    As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use Paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow.com for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.


    We appreciate your business,


    Thanks,


    Mark Brown



    Why do I think this is a scam you ask? Well, the second appraisal service I looked up and have blacked out was even online 2 months ago. It is a pis* poor put together website plus I had never heard of them.

    My thinking is he is sending this all to alot of domain owners thinking that out of all those emails, someone has to order an appraisal from them out of the 4 listed. He just listed the others to make it look good.

    Has anyone else recieved this email?

  2. #2
    Rockefeller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    53083
    Posts
    8,316
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    8,746
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    8,746
    Donate  
    This has been posted 10 times in the past week. Just do a search and you'll find them.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    nascar59's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    114
    DNF$
    9,409
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    9,409
    Donate  
    you have to keep one step ahead at all times I received several of these emails just learn thru reading

  4. #4
    Gold Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1
    DNF$
    134
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    134
    Donate  

    Mark Brown Domain Name Reseller

    I received the same offer to buy my domain at 65% from this email address "Mark.Brown79@rocketmail.com When I replied I received a delivery failure notice message. I requested and received an appraisal from Pozde. Anyone know who this guy is or if this is a scam.

    BayArea

  5. #5
    CrossLogix.com
    copper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Matthews, NC. U
    Posts
    2,560
    DNF$
    3,884
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,884
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by BayArea View Post
    I received the same offer to buy my domain at 65% from this email address "Mark.Brown79@rocketmail.com When I replied I received a delivery failure notice message. I requested and received an appraisal from Pozde. Anyone know who this guy is or if this is a scam.

    BayArea
    Ouch.
    possibly scam.

  6. #6
    DNF Regular
    gariben's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    NYC, Tokyo & HK
    Posts
    920
    DNF$
    827
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    827
    Donate  
    2-3 years ago... they spammed many domainers..

    it stopped..

    probably started by a copycat

  7. #7
    Gold Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8
    DNF$
    172
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    172
    Donate  
    I got one and figured it was a scam
    Last edited by draggar; 03-27-2009 at 08:04 PM. Reason: Removed link - gold memebrs are not allowed to advertise

  8. #8
    DNF Member
    thedomainster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Salt Lake City
    Posts
    413
    Country

    United States Follow thedomainster On Twitter Add thedomainster on Facebook
    DNF$
    3,874
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,874
    Donate  
    This is an old scam that has been around for several years.

    The appraisal company that you have never heard of is the one spamming to "drum up" business, and the guy will never buy your domain...Don't fall for it.

  9. #9
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boulder
    Posts
    1
    DNF$
    193
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    193
    Donate  
    I've also been contacted by this guy and think this is a complete scam. The "appraisal" website he is attempting to scam people with is "namesaleshop". He gets you to the website and then tries to entice you to purchase a 3 month membership for $99 EU by putting up bogus wanted ads that look too good to be true. One of the ads was offering to pay up to $25k for a shopping domain. I used compete.com to check the number of visits that this site gets and it is around 700/month. Not exactly a well established appraisal company.

  10. #10
    mvl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,179
    DNF$
    7,343
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    7,343
    Donate  
    One of the most wellknown scams around.

  11. #11
    DNF Member
    stewie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,100
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    1,225
    Bank
    488,356
    Total DNF$
    489,581
    Donate  
    yup all the time, delete ...lol

    .
    Buying .ca domains pm with pricing, will reply ..., thx
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . WebSite Developer Wanted!!! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

  12. #12
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    221
    DNF$
    1,534
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,534
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by BayArea View Post
    I received the same offer to buy my domain at 65% from this email address "Mark.Brown79@rocketmail.com When I replied I received a delivery failure notice message. I requested and received an appraisal from Pozde. Anyone know who this guy is or if this is a scam.

    BayArea
    Received a similar appraisal scam email from georgemartin@toughguy.net.

    I started scambaiting appraisal scammers and 419 scammers.

    Do not ignore their emails. Teach them an unforgettable lesson.

    Have a look at many successful scambaiting stories at: http://www.419eater.com/html/letters.htm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com