

![]() |
| ![]() | |||||||
|
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #21 (permalink) |
| Gold Lifetime Member | Help me interpret these terms. Here's an excerpt of the "terms" I received in e-mail and in the mail. X = me XX = company -------------------------------------------------------------- Specifically, by way of illustration and without limiting the general agreement expressed above, X agrees that, by no later than October 22, 2009, it will: (1) cease and desist from the unauthorized use of the XX COMPANY Marks; (2) transfer to XX COMPANY the registration for the domain name WEBSITE XX COMPANY.net and agrees to sign all forms necessary, to provide other necessary information and documentation, and to send such electronic mail messages as may be necessary to accomplish the transfer of the domain names; (3) warrant to XX COMPANY that WEBSITE XX COMPANY.net is the only domain name registered by or for X that incorporates any trademark, or any variation of any trademark, owned by XX COMPANY, its affiliates, and related companies, and that in the future X will not register, or cause to be registered, any domain names incorporating the XX COMPANY Marks, or any variation of thereof; and (4) pay XX COMPANY damages and attorney fees, by cashier’s check made payable to XX COMPANY., in an amount equal to the greater of 25% of your gross revenue associated with your unauthorized use of the XX COMPANY Marks or $2,500.00. X agrees and acknowledges that any violation or breach of this Agreement will cause irreparable harm to XX COMPANY, and that XX COMPANY will be entitled to entry of both a preliminary and permanent injunction against X for any violation of this Agreement, as well as any other remedy allowed by applicable law. X further agrees that if X breaches this Agreement, X will pay all costs incurred by XX COMPANY in enforcing this Agreement, including reasonable attorney fees. ------------------------------------------------------------------------- Are they stating that I must pay $2500 or just if I don't hand over the domain? Don't understand that part. I've set up an appointment with my lawyer tomorrow, but just can't wait to see what you guys think. |
| | |
| Sponsored Ads |
| | #22 (permalink) |
| Exclusive Lifetime Member | Yes, that's exactly what it's saying, unless you've generated more than $10k on the domain, in which case you would owe 25% of the total amount of revenue generated from the domain. I would DEFINITELY check to make sure this attorney actually represents this company. Something sounds fishy here. |
| | |
| | #23 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: shahram Last Online: Today 10:41 AM iTrader: (8) Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 503
DNF$: 0 Location: los angeles
Country: | odd. I never heard of a lawyer that will give you a C&D and give you a future date to stop use. Its usually stop immediately . Sounds fishy.
__________________ Now Selling: KPH.com, Tag.Us, Podcasts.net, LaCantina.com, IronKettle.com, pixd.com, OilDriller.com, ExhibitPrints.com Sign up for more info on becoming a licensed Domain Name Broker DNBA.org |
| | |
| | #24 (permalink) |
| Gold Lifetime Member | Thanks for the advice. I rather give up the domain, but the $2500 they are asking for is outrageous. I've gotten mixed opinions from lawyers, some say to give it up and some say they have no right to ask for the domain. In the end, the lawyers all are looking to get a couple of hundred dollars to write a response letter. Do you think contacting them myself and stating that I'm willing to transfer the domain, but not pay the $2500 fee would be ok? This seems like pure extortion. Here's a copy of the template they used (very similar): http://www.chillingeffects.org/trade...NoticeID=15590 |
| | |
| | #25 (permalink) |
| Missing in action Name: Kate Last Online: Today 04:51 PM iTrader: (41) Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,681
DNF$: 28,141 Location: .cz
Country: | If you have their phone number why not call or at least trace it to confirm it's genuine and that the person you are dealing with exists. As for the extortion you don't have to comply. Of course they can escalate things and possibly sue you. How is your domain infringing on their brand according to them ?
__________________ VeryOldNames.com |
| | |
| | #28 (permalink) |
| Missing in action Name: Kate Last Online: Today 04:51 PM iTrader: (41) Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,681
DNF$: 28,141 Location: .cz
Country: | With a reasoning like that everybody could sue each other.
__________________ VeryOldNames.com |
| | |
| | #29 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Chris Last Online: Today 07:33 PM iTrader: (2) Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 169
DNF$: 0 Location: Australia
Country: | Call the company direct. Speak to their IN-HOUSE Counsel - or, failing that - to the CEO, and ONLY the CEO. Verify that this alleged claim is authorised by the Company, or not. Its VERY unusual for an initial C&D letter from a lawyer to mention payment of monies to settle things, imo. Indeed, improper....The facts of the situation have not yet been acknowledged. I wouldn't do a thing until you speak, personally, to the Company that it is alleged is making this complaint. . |
| | |
| | #30 (permalink) | |
| Gold Lifetime Member | Quote:
http://www.chillingeffects.org/trade...NoticeID=15590 It seems like it's common for them to ask for money in their first letter. If you notice, they are now asking for half of what they used to ask for. $5,000 before to $2,500 now. What do you guys think? Is this extortion? 'Extortion', outwresting, or exaction is a criminal offense which occurs when a person unlawfully obtains either money, property or services from a person, entity, or institution, through coercion.................................................. .. Making a threat of violence or a lawsuit[citation needed] which refers to a requirement of a payment of money or property to halt future violence or lawsuit[citation needed] is sufficient to commit the offense. Exaction refers not only to extortion or the unlawful demanding and obtaining of something through force,[1] but additionally, in its formal definition, means the infliction of something such as pain and suffering or making somebody endure something unpleasant..................................... Such threats include the filing of lawsuits, reports (true or not) of criminal behavior to the police, revelation of damaging facts (such as pictures of the object of the extortion in a compromising position), etc. Last edited by taktikz; 10-15-2009 at 02:37 AM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost | |
| | |
| | #32 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Last Online: Today 03:41 PM iTrader: (10) Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 242
DNF$: 910 Location: Detroit | This is most likely a scam, I personally have received more than a few copyright infringement letters and in no way have any of them asked for a monetary value in any of their letters. Their main purpose is to get the domain back and thats it. Almost all of the domains I have gotten letters on are just sitting blank and not forwarded or anything so the company just wanted the name out of someone elses hands. That should be the situation here, not "well let me get $2500 real quick" BULLCRAP I dont know who the company is but if they are recognizable by two letters, they dont need your $2500!!
__________________ iInvested.com / Sawthat.com / LawyerZone.com |
| | |
| | #33 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: Jason Last Online: Today 04:53 PM iTrader: (12) Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 531
DNF$: 257 Location: Canada
Country: | have you received a hard copy of the letter? If this was me I would not give up the domain but if I was going to I would follow the advice here and call the company directly and verify the letter.
__________________ Gorillas.ca - Lions.ca - Swans.ca PM me for .CA Drop Catching Services (Include Price & Names) |
| | |
| | #35 (permalink) | |
| Platinum Lifetime Member | Quote:
The thing you should be looking at is who owns the .COM version???? | |
| | |
| | #37 (permalink) |
| Platinum Lifetime Member Name: shahram Last Online: Today 10:41 AM iTrader: (8) Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 503
DNF$: 0 Location: los angeles
Country: | ok just to clarify its not just a LL.net. Theres a term before the LL that can relate to the LL which can be used with the mark.
__________________ Now Selling: KPH.com, Tag.Us, Podcasts.net, LaCantina.com, IronKettle.com, pixd.com, OilDriller.com, ExhibitPrints.com Sign up for more info on becoming a licensed Domain Name Broker DNBA.org |
| | |
| | #38 (permalink) |
| No time to chit-chat Name: Jack Last Online: 11-05-2009 10:53 PM iTrader: (107) Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,819
DNF$: 3,771 Location: Smallville.ca | I didnt read every post in this thread, but from what I have read I'm guessing you have the .net version of the .com and to make things worse the LL is a brand and the word before it pertains to use of that brand.. perhaps BUY"LL".net If your wrong, fix the problem quickly. If your right, then tell them to piss off.
__________________ Take your domains for a DRIVE Today |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |