Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    880
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    1,166
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,166
    Donate  

    EKONAMES.COM - Anyone heard of them? How do they know domains you search for?

    Just received an email from this person at Ekonames:

    "Domain Owner,

    Domain ************.com will pass it's Redemption Grace Period on ****, 2011.

    We are sending this email to anyone who might benefit from owning this domain.
    If you are interested, please follow this link: http://ekostock.com/************

    Thank you!
    Amber

    To opt out of future emails: http://ekostock.com/*************
    "

    My concern is how do they know exactly the domain I have been searching for? The only place I did a search for this particular domain is on DomainTools.com & GoDaddy.com. I also did a backorder on GoDaddy.com.

    This seems extremely fishy to me. If anyone has come across this or has any clues, I'd really appreciate some insight.

    BTW, ekostock.com resolves to "HACKED BY DARK FORCE$" page but the url in the email resolves to the domain order page at ekonames.com

    Thanks,
    Tom
    Domain development - SEO, Lead Acquisition, Quality Content & Design, CMS, Much More...

  2. #2
    Dances With Dogs
    Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PortaPotty
    Posts
    17,859
    Country

    Trinidad Tobago
    DNF$
    23,022
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    23,022
    Donate  
    http://www.dnforum.com/f611/ekodomai...ad-448205.html

    Annoying bastards!

    They keep changing their email and response address. Thus avoiding my junk and email blockers.

    "Just a lot of embarrassment, embarrassed to be part of group of domainers who would do this to their fellow man.",
    Condemnation of Mobee boys and investors by our precious Mother Theresa of Domaindom

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Ottawa
    Posts
    2,207
    DNF$
    3,129
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,129
    Donate  
    its probably more likely that you own a similar name already.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    880
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    1,166
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,166
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by DomainsInc View Post
    its probably more likely that you own a similar name already.
    Come to think of it, that makes sense. I own the name in another extension. Forgot about that. The email got me worried that my whois searches were being tracked.

    In general, most of us on this forum will not respond to such spam. As in all spam, the targets of EKODOMAINS (or whatever domain they use) are the newbies and inexperienced.

    One surprise is that they use GoDaddy.com seals to verify and authenticate their site. They also use Authorize.net seal but that link does not work. Go Daddy should revoke their authentication as well. Especially in light of the comments in the thread Doc Com posted a link to.

    FYI, here are the tel #'s posted on their site:

    +1 518-620-4100
    +1 518-212-3366
    +1 888-286-3417
    Domain development - SEO, Lead Acquisition, Quality Content & Design, CMS, Much More...

  5. #5
    Country hopper
    katherine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Free World
    Posts
    7,503
    Country

    Iceland
    DNF$
    30,557
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    30,557
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by DomainerScript View Post
    BTW, ekostock.com resolves to "HACKED BY DARK FORCE$" page but the url in the email resolves to the domain order page at ekonames.com
    Excellent stuff. I'm gladly somebody has taken care of them

    Looks like other related sites have been 0wned too, search this:
    "HACKED BY DARK FORCE$"

    Quote Originally Posted by DomainsInc View Post
    its probably more likely that you own a similar name already.
    Yes, same domain in another extension or singular or hyphened version etc
    NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
    ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists

  6. #6
    DNF Addict
    south's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    33143/04930
    Posts
    4,997
    DNF$
    8,217
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    8,217
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by katherine View Post
    Excellent stuff. I'm gladly somebody has taken care of them

    Looks like other related sites have been 0wned too, search this:
    "HACKED BY DARK FORCE$"

    Cool. Looks like they pissed off the right person..
    All offers good for 72 hours except running auctions

    Progeria Research | Pulmonary Fibrosis | Dammit!

  7. #7
    acesfull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Birmingham, USA
    Posts
    894
    DNF$
    3,744
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,744
    Donate  
    Basically, they're losers who missed the boat in the domain business.
    I've got more where these came from!

  8. #8
    My BB: 800-S3X-Village
    Mr. Deleted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    2,965
    DNF$
    2,025
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,025
    Donate  
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    ekodelivery.com/ - Cached
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    ekooffering.com/ - Cached
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    ekooffer.com/ - Cached
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    50.22.5.43/ - Cached
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    ekoregistrar.com/ - Cached
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    HACKED BY DARK FORCE$
    ekorecord.com/ - Cached

    ---------- Post added at 09:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:04 AM ----------

    Looks like they put that on all their home pages. I work for a Hosting company, and got it to the support desk for a domain a client must have registered.

    Mr. Deleted, YouTube Partner
    Joseph Slabaugh, Founder, Wally Woods, LLC

  9. #9
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Danvers
    Posts
    81
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    1,872
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,872
    Donate  
    Thanks for this post. I received this earlier today, I knew it was shady thus the horrible domain name. Agstrading.com is registered to Ekonames

    ------------------------------------


    Dear Sir,

    w-h-o-l-e-s-a-l-e . com is coming available and now is your chance to secure the domain name so you can tie it in to your current marketing within your industry. This allows businesses to take more control of their immediate market and insure greater success.

    Take action now: http://agstrading.com/2677010tajene-KIc

    Most companies own all domains, whether it is .com, .net, .org etc., to ensure they do not lose any clients or sales to further grow and enhance their business.

    You can target visitors who are looking for items, which are exactly related to your company and increase brand recognition and identity.

    SEO advantages:
    • Increase targeting traffic
    • Increase brand visibility
    • Increase in sales
    • Increase consumer confidence

    Sincerely,

    The Domain Team
    25 First Street, 2nd Floor
    Cambridge MA 02141

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com