Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    GreenFriendly.com
    biggedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    96.net
    Posts
    13,260
    Blog Entries
    1
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    59,399
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    59,399
    Donate  

    Fake ICANN Email looks like it comes from Godaddy

    Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)Back to MessagesFrom: accountupdate@godaddy.com View Contact
    Add to Address Book | Block SenderFull HeaderReply To:
    To:me:
    Bcc:
    Sent: Sun, Apr 18, 2010 02:38 PMDownload All | ****************************** ***********
    Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)
    ****************************** ***********

    Dear User,

    it is that time of year again. ICANN(the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) annually requires that all accredited registrars (like GoDaddy.com) ask their domain administrators/registrants to review domain name contact data, and make any changes necessary to ensure accuracy. According to our records you are the ADMINISTRATIVE CONTACT for one or more domains registered at GoDaddy.com, Inc. as of Apr 1st, 2010.

    To review/update your Account data, simply:
    + Login to https://dcc.godaddy.com/ default.aspx?isc=ICANN0908a& amp;ci=8987
    (note <<fake link above goes to dcc.godalddy.com, even though it may show 'godaddy' here)
    + You will be taken to a landing page and asked to enter your account information
    Please take a look that your account and domain information is up to date.

    If, however, your domain contact information is inaccurate, you must correct it. (Under ICANN rules and the terms of your registration agreement, providing false contact information can be grounds for domain name cancellation.) To review the ICANN policy, visit:http://www.icann.org/ whois/wdrp-registrant-faq.htm

    Should you have any questions, please email us at support@godaddy.com or call our customer support line at (480) 505-8877.

    Thanks for your attention and thank you for being a GoDaddy.com, Inc. customer.

    Sincerely,
    GoDaddy.com, Inc. Domain Support


    If you are the domain administrator of more than one GoDaddy.com domain account, you may receive this notice multiple times.
    ------------------------------ ------------------------------ ------------------------------ ---
    Copyright (c) 2008 GoDaddy.com, Inc. All rights reserved.





    Mods can move to Godaddy section

    ---------- Post added at 03:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:03 PM ----------

    also using godaiddly.com in these phishing emails

    domain was regged today
    Need A SedoPro Account PM Me * nev.org * pmm.org * svc.net * ispoof.com * umm.org * sop.net * qfm.net * upyo.com * vioz.com * uce.org * wta.net * eoso.com * Coming Soon: Appraise.xxx

  2. #2
    CrossLogix.com
    copper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Matthews, NC. U
    Posts
    2,560
    DNF$
    3,884
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,884
    Donate  
    It does look like it's from GoDaddy.

    All you have to do is right mouse click while pointing any url,
    choose "copy link address" and paste it into notepad to see if it's phishing attempt or not.

  3. #3
    GreenFriendly.com
    biggedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    96.net
    Posts
    13,260
    Blog Entries
    1
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    59,399
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    59,399
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by copper View Post
    It does look like it's from GoDaddy.

    All you have to do is right mouse click while pointing any url,
    choose "copy link address" and paste it into notepad to see if it's phishing attempt or not.
    i always do the hover over, especially when anything comes from godaddy
    Need A SedoPro Account PM Me * nev.org * pmm.org * svc.net * ispoof.com * umm.org * sop.net * qfm.net * upyo.com * vioz.com * uce.org * wta.net * eoso.com * Coming Soon: Appraise.xxx

  4. #4
    CrossLogix.com
    copper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Matthews, NC. U
    Posts
    2,560
    DNF$
    3,884
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,884
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by biggedon View Post
    i always do the hover over, especially when anything comes from GoDaddy
    Humm...
    I remember reading some where that visible url by hover over can be faked.
    So, I always copy/paste on notepad.

  5. #5
    GreenFriendly.com
    biggedon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    96.net
    Posts
    13,260
    Blog Entries
    1
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    59,399
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    59,399
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by copper View Post
    Humm...
    I remember reading some where that visible url by hover over can be faked.
    So, I always copy/paste on notepad.
    i did notice that when you copy the email, it converts the link.


    i got two on same day and sent both to GD
    Need A SedoPro Account PM Me * nev.org * pmm.org * svc.net * ispoof.com * umm.org * sop.net * qfm.net * upyo.com * vioz.com * uce.org * wta.net * eoso.com * Coming Soon: Appraise.xxx

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com