Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    DomainSpace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    140
    DNF$
    28,121
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    28,121
    Donate  

    Has anyone else got an email like this?

    I was checking my email today and got this and wanted other people feedback as to what they think this is or even have they ever seen this before? [I took the name out but I got this in 2 emails for 2 different names].

    ================Email received=======================

    Dear Sir/Madam

    I'm sorry to disturb you so abrupt. We are a domain name registration service company in Asia,

    On 5th April. we received a formal application submitted by Mr. John Sun who wanted to use the keyword "[my domain name was here less the extension ]" to register the Internet Brand and with suffix such as .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/.asia/ domain names.
    After our initial examination, we found that these domain names to be applied for registration are same as your domain name and trademark. We aren't sure whether you have any relation with him. Because these domain names would produce possible dispute, now we have hold down his registration, but if we do not get your company's an reply in the next 5 working days, we will approve his application

    As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect Mr. John Sun is a domain investor. so we need you to attach importance to this issue.

    In order to handle this issue better, Please contact us by Fax ,Telephone or Email as soon as possible.

    Yours sincerely         2010-4-8
    Joy
    Oversea Marketing Manager
    -------------------------------------------
    Room 1008,
    International Building,
    No.38 YueLong road,NanTong City
    Tel:+86(513)85330968
    Fax:+86(513)80260081
    Email:Joy@volcafe.asia
    Website: www.volcafe.asia

  2. #2
    þórr mjǫlnir
    draggar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    12,878
    Country

    Czech Republic
    DNF$
    6,999
    Bank
    116,559
    Total DNF$
    123,558
    Donate  
    Scam

    Or more like a letter to put you into a panic in registering a bunch of domains though them.
    Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
    Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.

  3. #3
    Country hopper
    katherine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Free World
    Posts
    7,503
    Country

    Iceland
    DNF$
    30,557
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    30,557
    Donate  
    NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
    ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists

  4. #4
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    MAllie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,062
    Country

    Ireland
    DNF$
    7,283
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    7,283
    Donate  
    I've had a few of those. I think the first sentence says it all. The day scammers improve their English might be the time to worry.

  5. #5
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    DomainSpace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    140
    DNF$
    28,121
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    28,121
    Donate  
    I know it's a scam but was just giving them credit for improving their quality over the years. Even funnier was the fact the domain name .net / .org wasn't registered so why spend money on those other extensions.

    Kinda of reminds me of those fake invoices you get with the rated pricing but they aren't even from where you really have the domain registered in the first place. We all know the company it's on Yonge St in Toronto... Sends you an official looking invoice with return envelope but in small print it tells you that the domain will move over to there system and the invoice is actually just a courtesy notice.

  6. #6
    Bloody Hell
    Acro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    28,668
    Country

    Holy See
    DNF$
    15,589
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    15,589
    Donate  
    Dear Sir/Madam,

    We are behind a great government controlled firewall and produce counterfeit goods, cheap toys, steel that rusts and breaks and toxic drywall panels. But, humbly request your American dollar to support our Communist manifesto and teachings of Mao. The 12 year old gymnastics athletes that competed in Beijing 2008 illegally are the pride of Motherland. Let a thousand flowers blossom, we buy worthless .cn domains and pitch them for greenbacks. Ni hao!

    DomainGang.com - Digital Entertainment for Domainers
    Acroplex - Web & Graphics
    Acro.net - My Blog

  7. #7
    Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    956
    DNF$
    519
    Bank
    25,632
    Total DNF$
    26,151
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by sdsinc View Post
    Very nice
    Need a SedoPro endorsement code ? Just PM me your full name and address !

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com