hm to me it sounds like one of those appraisal scam emails, reply back and see, if they answer that they want you to do an appraisal for any reason, it is fake...otherwise it might be legit!
looks a bit fishy to me tho!
good luck!
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!Dear 31-¾.¤.-11, It has come to our attention that you are the owner of ******.com
On behalf of a private domain broker i would like to hear if you are interested in selling this domain name?
We have more than 10 years experience in the domain brokering industry and see a potentiel value in your name. We value a fast and easy communication, if you are interested in selling ******.com, please send an email to: sales@villafund.net with subject line "Interested in selling ******.com" including your asking price and prefered payment method for further considerations.
Thank you in advance
Best regards
any thoughts would be great
For Sale: Napkin.ca Condoing.com ForSaler.com WEBSITEY.com Parkable.com Resaver.com WeGab.com BowlForum.com
hm to me it sounds like one of those appraisal scam emails, reply back and see, if they answer that they want you to do an appraisal for any reason, it is fake...otherwise it might be legit!
looks a bit fishy to me tho!
good luck!
10 years experience and using a .net?
The domain was also just registered today:
Date Registered: 2010-6-2
Date Modified: 2010-6-2
Expiry Date: 2011-6-2
DNS1: dns1.hostfly.in
DNS2: dns2.hostfly.in
Registrant
Private Whois Service
Private Whois Service
*******PLEASE DO NOT SEND LETTERS******
****Contact the owner by email only****
c/o villafund.net
N4892 Nassau
Bahamas
DNS in India yet the registrar is in the Bahamas - fishy fishy fishy.
You could have a lot of fun with this one, though!
Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.
oh well then its obvious! damn good point there!![]()
i thought it was as i just bought the name yesterday and i could not find villa fund web site
For Sale: Napkin.ca Condoing.com ForSaler.com WEBSITEY.com Parkable.com Resaver.com WeGab.com BowlForum.com
Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.
Yeah... I received two at the same time for the same domain name, one from zeitz27426nq@aol.com, and one from "James Benton <j.benton29@yahoo.com>", both saying to reply to: domains@villafund.net. They both have improperly coded robot salutations. One says: "Dear 30-¾.¤.-11," and "Sincerely, #FSENDER_FNAME# #FSENDER_LNAME#", and the other says: "Dear 30-¾.¤.-11" and just "Regards".
Can you spell: b-o-g-u-s, i-n-e-p-t, j-e-r-k-s, etc.?
TopWebNames.com - High quality, intuitive type-in phrase, Premium domain names For Sale, with very good to excellent keyword development value!
It seems to me that the appropriate thing to do... to help them with their efforts... is to post their email address to as many spammer email address lists so they get picked up by spammer email address harvesting robots... and get LOTS of nice responses![]()
TopWebNames.com - High quality, intuitive type-in phrase, Premium domain names For Sale, with very good to excellent keyword development value!
Yeah, they'll probably get some similar scamming attempts by email too...
Looking for reliable and affordable hosting? Send me a message.
i had a sneaky one a little while back - it had a link that took you to the sedo website (sneaky) which made it seem legit...
After doing some more research by googling some of the deatails took me to a DNF thread here (thats when i became a member) where i found semilar stituations.
thanks again
Last edited by urlurl; 06-02-2010 at 05:04 PM.
For Sale: Napkin.ca Condoing.com ForSaler.com WEBSITEY.com Parkable.com Resaver.com WeGab.com BowlForum.com
I got one of these today also, know about the apprasial scams, and was not sure if that was it or not. They have a home page up now, and it looks pretty nice for a scam site. They may be hiring offshore workers to contact domain owners, or it could be a scam which is likely. I will contact and post when I find out for sure.
All I see is a graphic, that's it. Not even a very good one even.
This is starting to remind me of a company that tried to sell me a domain with one little snag, I already owned it. They had it up on their website for almost two years, too (selling the domain that I owned) and wanted $990 for it. Complaints to them, their registrar, and host all were ignored.
Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.
Hi, I posted this over at NamePros.com and one of the members there got a reply. In the reply they say they want you to get an appraisal and name a company, so I think it is safe to conclude that it's the same tired domain appraisal scam, but perhaps with a new player. Avoid, and if you have the time, report them to their ISP since at the very least they are spamming.
Received the same message but with instructions to contact a different email: sales@investet.com (registered today). It seems they listened to your feedback complaining about them using a .net, LOLOL! Of course I didn't even replied...
Partnerships : DN abc - Looking for domain partners
My best partners will get: quality domains, website development, unique articles, graphic design, etc.
I just got one today, too. I actually had to chuckle a little.
I'd love to respond with:fromMargeret Starkman <margeretstarkmanaodou@hotmail.com>
dateMon, Jun 7, 2010 at 3:51 AM
subjectRegarding: (domain)mailed-byhotmail.com
hide details 3:51 AM (7 hours ago)
Dear Ed Blood, It has come to our attention that you are the rightful owner of (domain)
On behalf of a large domain invest firm i would like to hear if you are interested in selling this domain name?
our company hava more than 10 years experience in the domain brokering industry and see a potentiel value in your name. We value a fast and easy communication, if you are interested in selling (domain), please send an email to: domains@investet.com with subject line "Interested in selling (domain)" including your asking price and prefered payment method for further considerations.
Thank you in advance
Best regards
Margeret
I won't even start with the spelling and grammatical errors that are all over the email.Margaret,
While I am interested inselling the domain (domain) I do have a few concerns that need to be addressed first.
- Your email is identical to a template that's been going around with offers to buy domains yet when the inquiries are responded to the owner is asked to conduct an appraisal. I'm assuming you'll do the same with an apprasial "firm" that is associated to you - like a typical appraisal scam?
- If your company has over 10 years experience, why are you still using Hotmail and not your own email? If you're a company that brokers domain names then shouldn't you be using your own domain?
- The email you asked me to send my response to was registered on June 4, 2010 is under 'whois privacy" - what are you trying to hide?
- The domain linked to the email address doesn't even have a website yet, one would think a company that's been around for 10 years would at least have a website!
Please address my concerns before we continue to discuss the sale of my domain.![]()
Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.
I just received this one today from email address suzannestudyvinlatvx@hotmail.comDear Doug Kelley, It has come to our attention that you are the owner of xxxxxxx
On behalf of a private domain invest firm i would like to hear if you are interested in selling this domain name?
our company hava more than 10 years experience in the domain brokering industry and see a potentiel value in your name. We prefer a fast and easy communication, if you are interested in selling xxxxxxxxxxx, please send an email to: domains@investet.com with subject line "Interested in selling xxxxxxxxxx" including your asking price and prefered payment method for further considerations.
Thank you in advance
Regards
Suzanne
What I find funny is how these all get sent out at the same time...
Do you think that could be indicative of something?
Premium LLLL .com for sale - N::B::F::A - click here to see thread!
Women lie. Men lie. Numbers don't lie.
Email is the best way to get a hold of me - maxwell [] maxwell.me
I think they just scan/spam a whois database and send them out in huge numbers. The sad part is that I'm sure they make a lot even from the .00001% that falls for the scam.
Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.
Bookmarks