DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > General Domain Name Discussion
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2009, 04:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
PRED's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 10:52 PM
iTrader: (118)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,961
DNF$: 1,069
Country:




Thumbs down New spammer/phisher , fake appraisal joint in town - Domain Resale LLC

New spammer/phisher , fake appraisal joint in town

Anyone else getting mass spam and 'enquiries' from this fake appraisal scam firm? pretending to be interested in domains?

Domain Resale LLC domainresale@ymail.com
Quote:
Dear sir,

we have an interest to buy the domain name example.COM and offer between 50% and 65% of a valuation.
We accept appraisals from companies such as

http://www.sedo.com/
http://max-apprais.com/


Should you already have a valuation please send it to us.

Please contact us if you are interested. After reviewing your valuation and in case of an agreement we will send payments via PayPal or Escrow.com, as well as further information on how to complete the transfer of the domain.
Best regards,
Domain Resale LLC

i'm going to suggest the owner of 'max-apprais.com' is the appraisal email scammer


Domain: max-apprais.com
Status: Active

DNS:
ns1.hongkongdns.com
ns2.hongkongdns.com

Created: 2009-09-12 14:22:58
Expires: 2010-09-12 14:22:58
Last Modified: 2009-09-12 14:16:26

Registrant Contact:
Katz Global Domain Name Trust
Privacy Protected Domain Katz Global Domain Name Trust (domaintrust@katzglobal.com)
32 Maxwell Road #03-07
Singapore, SC, sg 069115
P: +65.67228356 F: +65.67258021

Administrative Contact:
Katz Global Domain Name Trust
Privacy Protected Domain Katz Global Domain Name Trust (domaintrust@katzglobal.com)
32 Maxwell Road #03-07
Singapore, SC, sg 069115
P: +65.67228356 F: +65.67258021

Technical Contact:
Katz Global Domain Name Trust
Privacy Protected Domain Katz Global Domain Name Trust (domaintrust@katzglobal.com)
32 Maxwell Road #03-07
Singapore, SC, sg 069115
P: +65.67228356 F: +65.67258021

Billing Contact:
Katz Global Domain Name Trust
Privacy Protected Domain Katz Global Domain Name Trust (domaintrust@katzglobal.com)
32 Maxwell Road #03-07
Singapore, SC, sg 069115
P: +65.67228356 F: +65.67258021

Domainers Beware!!!!!!!!
__________________
dental recruitment | dental practices |
PRED is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 10-14-2009, 05:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
gingeman's Avatar
 
Name: Chris
Last Online: Yesterday 12:32 PM
iTrader: (64)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,514
DNF$: 796
Location: A95.com
Country:

Send a message via AIM to gingeman

yup, several this morning from them. 100% scam. 100% scum.
__________________
FOR SALE NOW: W-U.com $6k
gingeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 06:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 07:47 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,253
DNF$: 8,555


got one too.
wmloz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 09:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
DTalk's Avatar
 
Name: Chris
Last Online: Today 08:02 PM
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 167
DNF$: 0
Location: Australia
Country:


Got a similar appraisal scam today, too - but from a different source:


whitman@domainsecondhand.com


Email signed by: Bradley Whitman


Email expresses interest in a specific (named) domain of yours - Says they are Domain Brokers with a 'healthy budget'...


...A quick check showed up reports of this as an appraisal scammer (under varying personal names).


Beware, folks...These guys are back...

.
__________________
iFlyDrive.com - For Sale
DTalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 09:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
elivate's Avatar
 
Name: Peter
Last Online: Today 09:24 AM
iTrader: (30)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,570
DNF$: 0
Location: Canada
Country:


Funny, I got one this morning too, but for a domain I no longer own... Not sure where they got the info for that...
elivate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 10:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Today 08:09 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,330
DNF$: 331
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

I got one from them last year - maybe they move from area to area in hopes that the community is a lot larger than it actually is.

The sad part is that all it takes is one or two people to fall for it and they've made out.

Edit" They're only offering 50-65% of the appraisal value? cheap skates!!
draggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 10:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Da' Chef
 
jaydub's Avatar
 
Name: Jim
Last Online: Today 07:11 PM
iTrader: (207)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,907
DNF$: 5,817
Location: You know, that really really hot place at the core of the planet


I got 2 this morning...1 for a domain I own and one for a name I haven't owned for over a year.

It is the same format as the others as well....
__________________
Real character is doing the right thing when no one is looking.
Be sure brain is engaged before putting keyboard in gear.
Sometimes I feel like I'm in a battle of wits with unarmed opponents
jaydub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 11:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 09:52 PM
iTrader: (4)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 35
DNF$: 20,086
Location: Chicago


Quote:
Originally Posted by DTalk View Post
Got a similar appraisal scam today, too - but from a different source:


whitman@domainsecondhand.com


Email signed by: Bradley Whitman


Email expresses interest in a specific (named) domain of yours - Says they are Domain Brokers with a 'healthy budget'...


...A quick check showed up reports of this as an appraisal scammer (under varying personal names).


Beware, folks...These guys are back...

.
I got a similar email, but instead of "bradley" it was "bradford" and instead of a "healthy budget" his was "solid"
rns621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 01:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-12-2009 12:38 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 832
DNF$: 2,181


Here's my response to hotsaledomain.com appraisal scammers

I appraise hotsaledomain.com & max-apprais.com as "worthless" appraisal scam domains. Truthfully - your own domain names suck ass! Cease & desist any further scam e-mails you low life scum bags.




-----Original Message-----
From: Sale Domains LTD <info@hotsaledomain.com>
To: wentzco@
Sent: Mon, Oct 19, 2009 3:10 am
Subject: Domain Name JOBBE.COM



Dear sir,


we have an interest to buy the domain name JOBBE.COM and offer between 50% and 65% of a valuation.
We accept appraisals from companies such as

http://www.sedo.com/
http://max-apprais.com/


Should you already have a valuation please send it to us.

Please contact us if you are interested. After reviewing your valuation and in case of an agreement we will send payments via PayPal or Escrow.com, as well as further information on how to complete the transfer of the domain.

Best regards,
Sale Domains LTD
__________________
Larry Wentz
Twitter.com/LarryWentz
LarryWentz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 01:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
NameIntell.com
 
Johnn's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:20 PM
iTrader: (325)
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11,575
DNF$: 41,588
Location: Pennsylvania
Country:



Reply to them saying that you have a name and needed appraisal:

GetARealJobAndYouWill SleepBetterAtNight.com
Johnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 01:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
DotAgent
 
Domainator's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 12:22 AM
iTrader: (27)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 991
DNF$: 6,554
Country:


I get about 2 a day....

I like Johnn's reply
__________________
DOMAINator
Domainator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 03:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
No Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 07:47 PM
iTrader: (6)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,253
DNF$: 8,555


Same old pig with new makeup and lipstick.
wmloz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 03:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Success Is My Only Option
 
Carter's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 06:25 AM
iTrader: (43)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,231
DNF$: 27,103
Location: Italy
Country:


Got one.
Same old idiots.
Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com