Register Now for FREE! | | |
09-19-2008, 01:53 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | TheBest.com
Name: George Kirikos Last Online: Today 01:22 PM Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,145
DNF$: 1,670 Location: Toronto, Canada
Country: | Possible Scam to Steal Yahoo Credentials? I received an email from someone earlier today looking to buy a high value domain, received to my Yahoo address.
Since he was using a Hotmail email address, a name that did not match the Hotmail username, and had a Turkish IP address, I sent back my standard "fax me a letter" response, given the guy is likely very unqualified, but using my corporate email address.
The guy writes back that "he doesn't understand", but then includes a HTML link. And he replied back to my Yahoo address, instead of my corporate email address.
It seemed fishy to me, so I loaded up a VMWare virtual machine using a non-standard operating system, and loaded up the page -- it was blank. I loaded up another program to view the source code of that page, without loading it in a normal browser, and there was a lot of encrypted Javascript, but nothing else.
I figure it might be an attempt to hijack passwords, or something, so folks might be on the lookout for clicking on links like that. When I googled the username in the Hotmail account, I noticed some reference to the username in some foreign language forum (one that Google doesn't translate, i.e. Turkish), but it referred to XSS and Yahoo (XSS = cross site scripting, a type of security issue), which increases the odds that the email is malevolent.
In conclusion, be wary of clicking links! If in doubt, use something like VMWare, with an oddball operating system. Update - I just heard back from Yahoo Security, and they agree with me that the website appears malicious, so if you've had a recent email of the above nature, it might be wise to change your password. Also, check your account settings to ensure no one changed any settings (e.g. forwarding all emails to another account, or adding a filter to forward emails elsewhere). |
| |
09-19-2008, 02:03 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | Acro.net Αdministrator
Last Online: 11-29-2008 08:26 AM Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,764
DNF$: 7,665 Location: USA
Country: | Yes there are some very crafty methods out there, including embedding of trojan horses into wma audio files. I preview all emails in ASCII mode, never download attachments.
__________________ Acroplex.com • Professional Web & Graphics development |
| |
09-19-2008, 02:13 PM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 02:48 AM Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 215
DNF$: 10 Location: VA
Country: | Appreciate the heads up George and Acro
__________________ MarketNews,org SavingsRate,org PM me |
| |
09-19-2008, 02:18 PM
|
#4 (permalink)
|
Name: Tony Last Online: Yesterday 10:33 AM Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,852
DNF$: 8,479 Location: New York
Country: | unreal....of all the security needed to just read an email these days....such a dangerous place out there for the unsuspecting..... |
| |
09-19-2008, 02:25 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
| | Acro.net Αdministrator
Last Online: 11-29-2008 08:26 AM Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,764
DNF$: 7,665 Location: USA
Country: | You can also click here 
__________________ Acroplex.com • Professional Web & Graphics development |
| |
09-19-2008, 04:31 PM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 12:23 PM Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 721
DNF$: 148 Location: United Kingdom
Country: | One thing I did read on here is NEVER to use free emails like yahoo,hotmail
etc etc as the admin contact address on domains as they are much more likely to be
hacked. Imagine, you use a yahoo.com email address as admin. Hacker targets that
address and accesses it. In that inbox he discovers your "welcome to xyz domain
registrar" and password etc and away go your domains. Given how easily that
guy accessed the Sarah Palin yahoo email and said he simply answered the
security questions by looking answers up on Google ....
DG |
| |
09-19-2008, 04:58 PM
|
#7 (permalink)
|
Name: Kate Last Online: Today 12:17 PM Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,252
DNF$: 17,932 Location: 6 feet under
Country: | Today I received several notifications from Enom: Quote:
There was an attempt made to get your account password. Please note that many login names are similiar and someone may have made an error in their request, or were guessing at their login name.
This request came from 217.164.225.223
We do not have any additional information to provide you. If you are concerned about this attempt, you may want to change your password and/or the answer to your secret question on your account information page.
This is an automatically generated email, please do not reply.
Sincerely,
eNom, Inc.
| Domain hijackers are on the prowl. Be careful. |
| |
09-19-2008, 05:56 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | Acro.net Αdministrator
Last Online: 11-29-2008 08:26 AM Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,764
DNF$: 7,665 Location: USA
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsinc Today I received several notifications from Enom:
Domain hijackers are on the prowl. Be careful. |
Email abuse@emirates.net.ae
__________________ Acroplex.com • Professional Web & Graphics development |
| |
09-19-2008, 07:32 PM
|
#9 (permalink)
| | Gold Lifetime Member
Name: D. Giordano Last Online: 11-28-2008 07:16 PM Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 261
DNF$: 281 Location: Utah
Country: | Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeK I received an email from someone earlier today looking to buy a high value domain, received to my Yahoo address.
Since he was using a Hotmail email address, a name that did not match the Hotmail username, and had a Turkish IP address, I sent back my standard "fax me a letter" response, given the guy is likely very unqualified, but using my corporate email address.
The guy writes back that "he doesn't understand", but then includes a HTML link. And he replied back to my Yahoo address, instead of my corporate email address.
It seemed fishy to me, so I loaded up a VMWare virtual machine using a non-standard operating system, and loaded up the page -- it was blank. I loaded up another program to view the source code of that page, without loading it in a normal browser, and there was a lot of encrypted Javascript, but nothing else.
I figure it might be an attempt to hijack passwords, or something, so folks might be on the lookout for clicking on links like that. When I googled the username in the Hotmail account, I noticed some reference to the username in some foreign language forum (one that Google doesn't translate, i.e. Turkish), but it referred to XSS and Yahoo (XSS = cross site scripting, a type of security issue), which increases the odds that the email is malevolent.
In conclusion, be wary of clicking links! If in doubt, use something like VMWare, with an oddball operating system. Update - I just heard back from Yahoo Security, and they agree with me that the website appears malicious, so if you've had a recent email of the above nature, it might be wise to change your password. Also, check your account settings to ensure no one changed any settings (e.g. forwarding all emails to another account, or adding a filter to forward emails elsewhere). | This is exactly the method someone used a year ago in attempting to hijack my names. I did click on the link provided, and later that night had my email hacked. The email I recieved said that they were willing to trade one of my names for the website in the in the link below.
Fortunately I was able to stop it. Thanks for the warning George. |
| |
09-19-2008, 07:38 PM
|
#10 (permalink)
| | Acro.net Αdministrator
Last Online: 11-29-2008 08:26 AM Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,764
DNF$: 7,665 Location: USA
Country: | Usually what happens is this: the link either executes javascript that installs malicious java applets which then act as a trojan (keylogger) or it changes email settings at the free provider. Usually the latter exploits a cross-scripting hole that is newly discovered and not yet patched by the browser creators (e.g. Microsoft or Mozilla). For the same reason, you should not talk on MSN, AIM, Yahoo etc with people you don't know. There are similar exploits that can attempt to access your computer via the messenger software.
__________________ Acroplex.com • Professional Web & Graphics development |
| |
09-19-2008, 09:44 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: Today 12:21 PM Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,506
DNF$: 43 Location: NY
Country: | Very frightening, especially after hearing news about someone hacking Obama's gmail account.
lol
__________________ NewsReleases.net 11 years old! | 40YearMortgage.net | CopyrightForum.net | DrugTaking.com | PoundSterling.info and more at Domain Name Store |
| |
09-22-2008, 04:01 AM
|
#12 (permalink)
| | Platinum Lifetime Member
Last Online: 12-02-2008 02:55 AM Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 288
DNF$: 1,150 Location: On the moon
Country: | Thanks George for the warning. |
| |
09-25-2008, 08:02 AM
|
#13 (permalink)
| | WE BUY DOMAINS
Last Online: 11-15-2008 12:54 AM Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,041
DNF$: 6,056 Location: New York, USA
Country: | What is the most secure way to protect email?
Is there a super secure host out there?
__________________ Selling your generic domain name? Want CASH now? WeBuyThe.Com is ready to buy your names
Send us your generic.com today with stats for consideration! |
| |
09-25-2008, 10:33 AM
|
#14 (permalink)
| | DNF Addict
Last Online: 12-01-2008 07:12 PM Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,422
DNF$: 4,780 Location: New Jersey
Country: | if you save your passwords in Internet Explorer they can be recovered easily. See http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/pspv.html
For the e-mail server you should use encrytped login using SSL |
| | |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Linear Mode |
Posting Rules
| | | | All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 PM.
Copyright @2001-2008 DNForum.com
|