I've received the same mail several times.
This is SCAM.
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!This sounds pretty legit to me, but I know there are a lot of scams going around so I thought I would get a couple of opinions here.
I got an e-mail yesterday about one of my domains, I replied with "make me an offer and we'll talk."
Here is the response I got today...
Sorry for delay with answer. Our family was celebrating newborn child of my
sister.
Can you accept 9,000 USD?
Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name?
Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary.
Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain
appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It's very
important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation
company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from
independent sources I and my partners trust.
To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal
companies.
Please check this blog with suggestions from other sellers and buyers:
http://domainblog.007sites.com/683014.htm
If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price
accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% - 15%
discount.
After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to
obtain it) we'll continue our negotiations.
What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire
transfer, PayPal.com or something else?
Hope we can come to an agreement fast.
Looking forward to your reply.
The guy isn't pointing me toward an affiliate link for the appraisal, so I would tend to think this is legit.
When I like at his e-mail address, though, the domain name listed there (ie: joe@domain.com) "domain.com" says "This website is coming soon."
Any advice here?
Thanks.
Chris
P.S. - I did run one of those automated valuations on the domain, just to get an idea and it came back with "$8,000 - $13,000". Thanks.
I've received the same mail several times.
This is SCAM.
SCAM. Don't waste your time.
SCAM, I Got The Same Email Last Year... Forget It.. Sounds Good Though Eh?
DNSearch.net - Instant Domain Name Search!
AvailableDN.com - Available Domain Name Blog - DOMAIN NAME FOR SALE!! PM Me
Appraisal scam
NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists
Thanks, guys.
I don't get how he benefits from this. He hasn't recommended any particular domain appraisal service.
I'll have to re-read that e-mail and see if I can figure out what the 'gimmick' is...other than getting me to waste my time.
They will make you purchase an appraisal from their partners in crime then they disappear. If they are willing to pay $$$$ why don't they pay for the appraisal ?
Too good to be true.
NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists
Well he did - the link to that fake "forum".I don't get how he benefits from this. He hasn't recommended any particular domain appraisal service.
His fake appraisal crapsite is DomainExplorer.org
I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
ThankYouDHL.com
Definite scam, these guys pop up every few months or so.
Thank you for all the great information. I am going to try to sell domains my son overbought. I probably would have been scammed if not for reading the posts. I am trying to learn and recoup some of my money. I learn every day. Thanks Gloria
Argh, I just got the same email.. Really got my hopes up for a minuteGood job I know where to check for things like this - you guys make domaining so much easier!
Bookmarks