Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > General Domain Name Discussion
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2009, 07:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
DotAgent
 
Domainator's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 05:39 PM
iTrader: (27)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 992
DNF$: 6,558
Country:


Spams Offering To Buy My Domains

I have been getting bombarded by the following solicitation...does anyone know who these clowns are? The name keeps changing and so does the email address that these come from.... these are bogus for sure, making you spend $$$ to get appraisals. They seem to be working in alphabetical order...

Dear sir,

we are interested to buy your domain name ADSFOREVER.COM and offer to buy it from you for 70% of the appraised market value.

As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies:

sedo.com
pozde.com
moniker.com
accuratedomains.com

If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.

As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use Paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow.com for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.

We appreciate your business,

Thanks,

P. Jackson
__________________
DOMAINator
Domainator is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 03-21-2009, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Today 10:14 AM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,358
DNF$: 83
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

Appraisal scams. They're making the rounds once again.
draggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 07:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
JuniperPark's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 10:48 AM
iTrader: (86)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,480
DNF$: 3,142
Location: San Diego, CA
Country:


The 2nd site listed is only 5 months old (gee, that makes him an apprasial expert!) and "happens" to be having a special on apprasials. So the most likely scammer/spammer is.....

Smith, Richard admin@bizing.biz
563 queen st
bruckberg, er 54767
Iceland
__________________
The only domain reseller BRAVE enough to post prices: TheNameStore.com ][
JuniperPark is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 08:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
DNF Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-20-2009 03:36 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 233
DNF$: 719


I've been getting a ton of these also what a scam. I replied telling them it was a scam a couple of time. I think appraisals are the biggest scam ever a total joke. If I listen to people telling me what my name were worth I would have made about 1/10th what I have made selling names.
Cashcows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 09:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Success Is My Only Option
 
Carter's Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-21-2009 06:25 AM
iTrader: (43)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,231
DNF$: 27,103
Location: Italy
Country:


Check here same problem http://www.dnforum.com/f31/appraisal...ad-357676.html

They are clowns to send mails like this.
Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 10:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
BELLC1's Avatar
 
Name: Deceased
Last Online: 11-09-2009 04:49 AM
iTrader: (9)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,259
DNF$: 804
Location: Louisiana
Country:


No one I know truly believes an appraisal is or has ever been anything other than worthless, pure fluff, of benefit only to the guy who makes the money doing an appraisal.

That being said, "Richard Smith" is probably as fake as the three I received today from "Mark Brown", "Peter Jackson" and "Jeff Lewis" at their respective rocketmail or yahoo accounts.

One thing I noticed is they do appear to be going alphabetically today as they only went after three of my names that start with "A". I guess "B" is next ..
__________________
Effeminate.com Fluffies.com Fluffs.com FunWithGirls.com HockeyLeagues.com & More! ifrontpage.com
If you have to explain what your domain name means, give up, it's a crappy name!
BELLC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com