Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    westcoaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Island
    Posts
    135
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    907
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    907
    Donate  

    What is the whois of this domain

    Today I received a scam mail. Not that this is new but I was curious when they provided a link to a website to harvest more info from me...

    The site address is asiapacificonlinepromo.web.officelive.com

    While trying to find the owner on a whois it comes up blank.

    Can someone enlighten me as to what I am missing here.


    I know it's a scam just curious about the who owns the site.

    Cheers
    .ca's are my fav.

  2. #2
    þórr mjǫlnir
    draggar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    12,878
    Country

    Czech Republic
    DNF$
    6,996
    Bank
    116,559
    Total DNF$
    123,555
    Donate  
    OfficeLive.com is owned by Microsoft - I'm willing to bet it was spoofed.
    Save the wolves - join The Wolf Army today!
    Please follow the rules or suffer the wrath of Thor's Hammer.

  3. #3
    Buying CC.com
    Credit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,690
    DNF$
    1,863
    Bank
    111,644
    Total DNF$
    113,506
    Donate  
    Already said above^

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    westcoaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Island
    Posts
    135
    Country

    Canada
    DNF$
    907
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    907
    Donate  
    I understand a spoof email, I get them all the time. How does it work that one can set up a spoof domain ( if that is what it is)

    Thanks
    .ca's are my fav.

  5. #5
    Dances With Dogs
    Gerry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    PortaPotty
    Posts
    17,859
    Country

    Trinidad Tobago
    DNF$
    23,022
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    23,022
    Donate  
    Is the address you put in your first post the address to send responses to?

    If so, it may be a legit offer.

    I would take a closer look at where to submit a response.

    That will surely tell you if it is legit or not.

    As for how to set up a spoof or phishing attempt, it is not so much who the email or promo supposedly originates from. It is more telling as to where you send the response.

    I can create anything from any company that will look so official and authentic.

    If I was to send you something that supposedly originated from PayPal and you click on the link and the email response address is sucker@bogusoffer.tld then you know it is not legit.

    "Just a lot of embarrassment, embarrassed to be part of group of domainers who would do this to their fellow man.",
    Condemnation of Mobee boys and investors by our precious Mother Theresa of Domaindom

  6. #6
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    Mike Cruz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2,381
    Country

    United States Follow Mike Cruz On Twitter Add Mike Cruz on Facebook Visit Mike Cruz's Youtube Channel
    DNF$
    9,657
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    9,657
    Donate  
    Quote Originally Posted by doc com View Post
    is the address you put in your first post the address to send responses to?

    If so, it may be a legit offer.

    I would take a closer look at where to submit a response.

    That will surely tell you if it is legit or not.

    As for how to set up a spoof or phishing attempt, it is not so much who the email or promo supposedly originates from. It is more telling as to where you send the response.

    I can create anything from any company that will look so official and authentic.

    If i was to send you something that supposedly originated from paypal and you click on the link and the email response address is sucker@bogusoffer.tld then you know it is not legit.

    qft

  7. #7
    a.k.a. Nameslave
    Anthony Ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,985
    Country

    Canada Follow Anthony Ng On Twitter Add Anthony Ng on Facebook
    DNF$
    4,534
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    4,534
    Donate  
    Yes, whatever.web.officelive.com websites are HOSTED on Microsoft servers, but it's just one of their MILLIONS of small business clients LIKE YOU AND ME.

    EDIT: I don't think you could "whois" a sub-domain.
    Profoundly influenced by #Bauhaus, @Nameslave unrepentantly embraces #Minimalism in his #multimedia portfolio. His early works include an experimental adaptation of Chekhov’s Cherry Orchard inspired at least partly by Robert Fripp. His totally irrelevant M.Ed. dissertation examines Organizational Culture and Change Management.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com