yes i also had some referers from this website !
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!Hi,
I recently noticed that some of my parked domains get traffic from http://internet-guide.biz/ (I can see that in the "host" section in Fabulous).
This seems to be a PPC directory and for some reason I get traffic from there eventhough I never listed any of my domains there.
I also received a warning from sedo today that one of my domains with them is getting "paid traffic". I don't know if it's the same problem as the above but my guess is that it is.
Anyone else noticed that with his parked domains ?
Thanks
- Idan
yes i also had some referers from this website !
I'm pretty sure you don't get any traffic from internet-guide.biz. They just visit sites and leave that as their referrer.
I've got that same url in the stats for a few of my sites, and I know they don't send me any traffic.
I think this is the government trying to take down the PPC business!!
Seriously, I just emailed Fabulous about it and asked them if they've seen it happen to other customers. Don't want to get my account suspended...
This is happening in too many of my names to be coincidental... I also never noticed this before.Originally Posted by Jonathan
Last edited by madcamel; 05-09-2005 at 04:03 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
It's called referrer spam or referrer log spam.
Jarred,
So are there links for my domains in this site or is it something else ?
In regards to internet-guide.biz, we have noticed that a lot of Fabulous' recently registered domains are getting hit by this referrer also. They don't seem to be generating revenue, so for now it's not a problem.
Mike Robertson | Domain Guardians | mike [at] domainguardians [dot] com | LinkedIn
No links in their domain for your site, Idan.
They run a script against the entire zone file.
Some sites post their stats in web-accessible urls.
So, presto!, the sites that have exposed stats, (such as webalizer or awstats), will now be linking back to this guy's site. In turn, he gets thousands of links pointing back to him. It's to increase his pagerank, tho not as useful nowadays as it was in the past.
It serves other useful means still though, such as steering search engines that walk links into his site to be spidered.
Shameless plug - for those that are into this topic one way or another, I have referrerspam.com and referrerlogspam.com for sale.
Anyway, hope this info helps you out, MadCamel.
Ah, OK , thanks
more info about it if you or anybody else is interested
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&d...r+spam&spell=1
Bookmarks