Yahoo deletes inactive website from the directory.
More info here:
http://help.yahoo.com/help/aa/dir/remove/remove-03.html
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!I have had the domain nikif.com for over a year and a half. I bought it either on this board or eBay -- cannot remember. Anyway, at the time I bought it, it was listed in Yahoo's directory as one of only four pet registration sites. As a matter of fact, the site has been listed in this category since before December 2002.
See:
http://web.archive.org/web/200210171..._Registration/
I went to check today, and the site is no longer listed there. As the WHOIS listed owner, I have not been contacted. Of course, I do not know who originally listed this domain (as is usually the case with dropped/re-sold domains), so I do not know the originally listed email address on file with Yahoo.
I had planned to eventually develop a site to match this category, but for the time being it is parked at DomainSponsor.
Does anyone have any idea why this domain would be delisted? Does anyone have any insight into preventing this from happening to my other Yahoo grandfathered directory domains?
Also, check your Yahoo grandfathered domains and see if any of yours have been delisted. If so, what is the common thread? Do you think Yahoo looks over their sites and automatically delists sites that point to domain parking services? :huh:
Sam
--
I'm just waiting 'til the shine wears off.
Yahoo deletes inactive website from the directory.
More info here:
http://help.yahoo.com/help/aa/dir/remove/remove-03.html
Yahoo is usually pretty lazy about removing dead sites. But you should expect them to remove sites eventually, especially if the site changed substantially to a parking page or unrelated site.
If you paid for inclusion and stop paying their yearly renewal fee you can expect the domain to be dropped right away. Inactive grandfathered names will usually take longer to be de-listed, I think.
FLe8 wrote:
I had planned to eventually develop a site to match this category, but for the time being it is parked at DomainSponsor.
++++++++++++
There's your answer.
So what I hear you saying is, don't park Yahoo domains at DomainSponsor, or you can expect them to get deleted? Makes sense, I just want to make sure.
I've spent a few $$$$ this month on Yahoo domains, as they are great for backlinks and PR, so I obviously want to make sure I'm not just flushing $$$$ down the toilet.
Is there any parking service that can help me monetize my domains without letting them get deleted?
Originally Posted by DaddyHalbucks
Sam
--
I'm just waiting 'til the shine wears off.
fle8, yes there is such a "parking service"
i use the fabulous 4.0 premium program and it works like a charm.. maintains google page rank, yahoo listings, etc.
fabulous.com actually hosts and automatically generates dynamic content for your domain... search engines will not ban and remove your site/listing because it will have it's own unique web site and not just a landing page from one of the banned ppc services such as domainsponsor, domainhop, sedo, etc.
good luck!
mike031 , can you PM me the url for the fabulous 4.0 premium program
Originally Posted by DaddyHalbucks
Bingo, I agree.... Should have been top priority to build that one...
Mastering Your Website
www.masteringyourwebsite.com
Thanks, I have redirected all my Yahoo directory listed domains to Fabulous.
Sam
--
I'm just waiting 'til the shine wears off.
Originally Posted by mike031
What makes you think that DomainSponsor is banned by the search engines?
And how do you know fabulous parking pages are not?
Very curious.
One Word Domains and Good Keyword .com's for sale >> http://www.ModernDomains.com
fabulous provides physical Hosting for your domain, as if it was a real actual web site.. where domain sponsor tracks your domain under their static landing pages, ie; landing.domainsponsor.com/...etc
fabulous parking pages can not and will not be banned because the search engines will crawl them as if they were regular web sites... so the search engines have no problem with that.. with domainsponsor, the search engines will crawl your domain and immediately be redirected to landing.domainsponsor.com -- which they don't particularly like.. and ban'
unless you use some meta tags with your registar, enom for example.. your domain will be banned immediately.
Originally Posted by Momentum
I don't know about Fabulous. All I know is I had my Yahoo directory grandfathered names parked at DomainSponsor, and they are no longer directory listed. I'm willing to give Fabulous a try, just to make sure they don't get delisted.
Sam
--
I'm just waiting 'til the shine wears off.
Update: I had several grandfathered domains delisted, and was about to sell one of them for a bargain-basement prices on eBay, when I checked Yahoo one last time -- and to my surprise, Yahoo had relisted the domain.
Here is the email I had sent them last year imploring them to relist it. I never heard back from them, so I assumed they had not done it, but in fact, sometime in the last 8 months, they did reinstate it:
The server difficulty was not a complete lie -- we had had a brief service interruption the previous month. That was the best excuse I could think of at the time.Originally Posted by email to 'url-support@yahoo-inc.com'
Anyway, thought I'd share my success, in case someone else had this same problem.
Last edited by diverge; 01-27-2006 at 12:23 PM.
Sam
--
I'm just waiting 'til the shine wears off.
Very interesting report - Thansk for keeping us in the loop on that!![]()
Mastering Your Website
www.masteringyourwebsite.com
Bookmarks