Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    typist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Vienna
    Posts
    982
    DNF$
    2,293
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,293
    Donate  

    aggressive bankers

    Suddenly, out of nowhere I get a phone call from a really aggressive guy, claiming to represent some bank doing business as "Dortia" (anonymized)

    I own quite a few personal name domains (ie somename.cctld). One of them is something like dorita.es (anonymized - pm me if you're curious).

    All the top search results for my domain name (without the extension) on Google refer to women bearing the same first name, and there's more than a few of them.

    Naively, I had listed my cell phone in the whois info.

    Now this guy starts off, using rude language, accusing me of spreading spyware and a lot of ugly things. The content in question is provided by a well known parking company.

    I asked him to calm down and assured him that I'd like to work with him to understand what happened here, and that I absolutely disapprove of spyware.

    For a while, I continued to listen to his allegations - a somewhat abstruse mix of man-in-the-middle attacks, malicious code, spyware and phishing - and then asked him to give me his email address.

    I double checked with the parking provider; of course there is no spyware (the casale media code tracks visitors, but unless as a visitor you've really got something to hide, visitor tracking is not very malicious).

    In my subsequent email to him, I patiently explained that there is absolutely no spyware associated with my domains, and that I'm not involved in any phishing activities.

    I tried to understand why he jumped to these conclusion. Apparently it was only the perceived similarity of the domains which triggered his aggressive behaviour. This is the second time this happens to me: Bankers really seem to be paranoid these days. What scares me though, is that the people who are dealing with this, at least the two I spoke to,
    have absolutely no clue of what they are talking about in terms of IT security. Maybe there's an opportunity for a security consulting business here?

    Anyway, now I've wasted almost half an afternoon on this. I'll definitely never list my cell phone in a whois listing again.

    ....and an afterthought: I'll definitely change my username. "Typist" might be better. Just to avoid any misunderstandings. All my mispleddings are intentional copyright traps...
    Last edited by tpyo; 10-06-2006 at 05:19 AM.
    always buying domains with type-in traffic. all tlds.

  2. #2
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    denny007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,507
    DNF$
    11,514
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    11,514
    Donate  

    Re: aggressive bankers

    Casale media is the worst spyware on the net.
    Google for
    casale media spyware
    casale media removal
    I have PM disabled. You can email me: denny startseek com
    ThankYouDHL.com

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    typist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Vienna
    Posts
    982
    DNF$
    2,293
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,293
    Donate  

    Re: aggressive bankers

    Maybe I'm missing something here, but I thought it was simply a tracking cookie.

    Not what I would define as spyware. Though I understand some people might find this creepy due to the mere reach of Casale Media: according to wikipedia "As of May 2006, they claim to serve ads to 170 million unique users worldwide.

    As measured by comScore Media Metrix (May/06), the Casale Media network reaches over 102 million unique online Americans (60% of the U.S. digital audience)."

    Opens up a whole new world for a tracking cookie, doesn't it.

    I wasn't aware of the massive opposition towards casale media. I'll read some of this tomorrow and consider if I should disable the casale popunders. Popunder RPM has been merely 2.40 this month anyway, and I only get 1 popunder out of every 10 pageviews.
    always buying domains with type-in traffic. all tlds.

Similar Threads

  1. Aggressive broker wanted- Poker names
    By Togoodhlth in forum Domain Broker Wanted
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2006, 02:02 AM
  2. CopyrightApplication.com
    By windyreddy in forum Domain Name Appraisal Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-15-2003, 04:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com