+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Is anyone else getting this crap?

  1. #1
    Bloody lovely
    Last Activity Today 01:04 PM
    Acro's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Country
    Posts
    24,172
    DNF$
    5,212

    Is anyone else getting this crap?

    Spammed two of my domains with the same cookie-cutter email; needless to say the offers were ultra lowballing.

    From: adams.jennifer@gmx.com
    Subject: Domain Name Purchase Proposal: ****.com

    Dear Sir/Madam,

    I am contacting you on behalf of a small web development firm with which I work.

    We have just recently instigated a development plan whereby we are slowly but surely building a large network of simple, information based websites.
    The intention is to create a Wikipedia style encyclopaedia of information. The difference is however that rather than be located on one central domain, we intend to develop these sites on individual, keyword rich domains.
    Our aim is to create a network such that if you want information on 'Childrens Birthdays' for example, then you can simply type in childrensbirthdays.com and find all the information you need.
    At the moment search engines like Google provide an unnecessary middle man. We aim to make finding what you want even simpler than it already is!

    We are contacting you with regards to the domain name ****.com. Having completed a check of the whois database we obtained your details as being the owner/administrator of said domain name.
    We are interested in purchasing this domain name from you as it is an ideal domain name for our development.

    We would be prepared to offer you 50 USD for your domain name. If this is acceptable, please do let us know and we will provide information on how we may proceed.
    We do not consider ourselves naive or unknowledgeable, and appreciate that some domains are being used for other things than websites: email for example, and again we appreciate that you may simply not want to sell your domain.
    If this is the case we ask that you let us know such that we can pursue alternative domains.

    Independent of your decision, I thank you for your time and wish you all the best.
    Thanks

    Jennifer

    DomainGang.com - Digital Entertainment for Domainers
    Acroplex - Web & Graphics
    Acro.net - My Blog


  2. #2
    Last Activity Today 09:04 AM
    Rockefeller's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Country
    Posts
    7,508
    DNF$
    3,278
    Yup, got two of them from different emails.


  3. #3
    Dances With Dogs
    Last Activity Today 01:21 PM
    Doc Com's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    gerry.mobi
    Country
    Posts
    11,012
    DNF$
    1,794
    Odd.

    Getting emails from someone named Jennifer but they were not that long.

    They must have purchased an eBook and are upping their style a little bit.



    Conservative With A Conscience



  4. #4
    DNF Member
    Last Activity 01-15-2010 01:55 PM

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    374
    DNF$
    5,025
    These kinds of things are absolute time sinks. I understand individual messages requesting interest in selling (though they are usually unfruitful), but these mass mailings are just an awful practice.

    Even so, despite the cost, the mass spammer will say, "well just delete them"... to which I say, "just don't send them".

    Obviously, it looks like just about anyone can get access to the whois database these days. Sad.

    Any idea of the origination IP?

    -Commerce


  5. #5
    Bloody lovely
    Last Activity Today 01:04 PM
    Acro's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Country
    Posts
    24,172
    DNF$
    5,212
    What's interesting is that both emails were for domains I won at NameJet. So "Jennifer" is using a very specific database.

    Some headers:

    X-cPanel-MailScanner-From: rgnet@heaven.proxyrefresh.net
    Received: from heaven.proxyrefresh.net ([94.23.15.47]:39621)
    Last edited by Acro; 03-16-2009 at 03:01 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

    DomainGang.com - Digital Entertainment for Domainers
    Acroplex - Web & Graphics
    Acro.net - My Blog


  6. #6
    DNF Member
    Last Activity Today 12:56 PM
    stewie's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Country
    Posts
    2,321
    DNF$
    460,769
    and they say... "We do not consider ourselves naive or unknowledgeable"

    delete it .. what a joke!!!

    .
    .
    .

    Buying LLL.ca & LLLL.com /generic domains, pm w/pricing...thx


  7. #7
    Bloody lovely
    Last Activity Today 01:04 PM
    Acro's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Country
    Posts
    24,172
    DNF$
    5,212
    I deleted the 1st one. I can't post the response I sent to the 2nd one

    DomainGang.com - Digital Entertainment for Domainers
    Acroplex - Web & Graphics
    Acro.net - My Blog


  8. #8
    Dances With Dogs
    Last Activity Today 01:21 PM
    Doc Com's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    gerry.mobi
    Country
    Posts
    11,012
    DNF$
    1,794
    I don't know why they just don't pony up 50 bucks for email.com.



    Conservative With A Conscience



  9. #9
    Bloody lovely
    Last Activity Today 01:04 PM
    Acro's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    USA
    Country
    Posts
    24,172
    DNF$
    5,212
    So here it is:

    1. Proxy emailer
    2. Use of a fake female name as front
    3. Lowballing
    4. Spam / templated inquiry
    5. Lame reasons about what they plan to do with the domain.

    Two more and we've defined the 7 Deadly Sins of Domaining

    DomainGang.com - Digital Entertainment for Domainers
    Acroplex - Web & Graphics
    Acro.net - My Blog


  10. #10
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Last Activity 01-28-2010 10:24 AM
    Nullmind's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    italy
    Country
    Posts
    128
    DNF$
    100
    I've received the same email 2 times, probably they are scammers and wants the domain for free ( pay with paypal, got domain, make a refund ). I think that because I've set the same price stated on her email on Sedo, reply with sedo link and haven't received any offer


  11. #11
    DNF Addict
    Last Activity Today 01:17 PM

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Country
    Posts
    4,001
    DNF$
    10,015
    Quote Originally Posted by Acro View Post

    5. Lame reasons about what they plan to do with the domain.
    Why do they feel the need to do that....?


  12. #12
    Last Activity Today 12:24 PM
    Onward's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Washington DC
    Country
    Posts
    3,102
    DNF$
    16,089
    I got one of these...I was really pissed that I took the time to read the whole thing...
    .

    Find out who is sending that anonymous offer...
    Search their e-mail address across over 40 social & business networking sites, blogs and forums.


  13. #13
    Success Is My Only Option
    Last Activity 12-03-2009 10:14 AM
    Carter's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Country
    Posts
    4,230
    DNF$
    27,107
    Received this but the message fly soon in my trash folder.


  14. #14
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Last Activity Yesterday 04:51 PM
    Seraphim's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Country
    Posts
    3,104
    DNF$
    1,590
    I got one today.


  15. #15
    CrossLogix.com
    Last Activity Today 01:17 PM
    copper's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Matthews, NC. U
    Posts
    2,270
    DNF$
    2,352
    Well, at least offered $50
    I got one with offer of $10


  16. #16
    Success Is My Only Option
    Last Activity 12-03-2009 10:14 AM
    Carter's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Country
    Posts
    4,230
    DNF$
    27,107
    Quote Originally Posted by copper View Post
    Well, at least offered $50
    I got one with offer of $10
    These scammers probably will appear on DNJournal


  17. #17
    MyDN.com
    Last Activity 12-17-2009 05:12 PM
    domains's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Mass.
    Posts
    651
    DNF$
    223
    I got one today from "Jennefer Adams." $50 for a domain I've had since early 1999
    Over ten years in domain industry. Please visit OnDN.com.


  18. #18
    Last Activity Today 09:04 AM
    Rockefeller's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sheboygan, WI
    Country
    Posts
    7,508
    DNF$
    3,278
    Both times they offered $500 for me. I bet they gain some good domains doing that...


  19. #19
    nДm€ t|2a|)oЯ
    Last Activity Today 02:59 AM
    NameTrader.com's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Country
    Posts
    1,188
    DNF$
    1,862
    Yea I got one of these POS offers too. No thanks "Jennifer"!
    Domain Names For Sale - Tons of domains (primarily .com and .org) for sale - contact me if interested in anything and I'll quote you the price!


  20. #20
    Domain Magnate™
    Last Activity Yesterday 07:21 PM
    DomainMagnate's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    DnMagnate.com
    Posts
    3,678
    DNF$
    28,318
    Got this one too today, just posted about this
    http://www.domainmagnate.com/2009/03...hase-proposal/


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts