Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    cyphix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,603
    DNF$
    1,778
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,778
    Donate  

    Got unexpected fax from efax.com with attachment

    Ok.... basically I'm wondering if I should be attempting to open this.. I don't want to get any virus.

    Norton didn't detect anything when I got the email which apparently came from efax.com but it's better to be safe than sorry.

    The fax is entitled..

    Subject:
    eFax from XXXXXXXXXX - 2 page(s)

    Appears to be sent through "mia1-media3.j2noc.com".

    Email reads:

    You have received a 2 page fax at 2004-02-11 21:03:15 GMT.


    * The reference number for this fax is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.


    This message can be opened with eFax Messenger Plus. If you have not already installed eFax Messenger Plus on your computer, please download a free copy at http://www.eFax.com/need.


    With Messenger Plus you can...


    * Add your signature to outbound documents - easily.
    * Combine, re-order or delete pages in the thumbnail view.
    * Add custom rubber stamp images to each document.
    * Highlight segments of a document.
    * Embed voice & text annotations for personal notes & data.


    Please visit http://www.eFax.com/help if you have any questions regarding this message or your service.


    Thank you for using the eFax service!
    Content-Type: image/tiff; name=2a989342.tif
    Content-Disposition: attachment; filename="2a989342.tif"
    Content-MD5: WccvQvYEgMa3gQXJjv6KFA==
    It has a .tif file attached.

    It was addressed to: xxxx@dreyfussfinancial.com, xxxxx@xxx.com

    I just picked up that domain (dreyfussfinancial.com) off a drop recently.

    What would you do?

    Thanks for any help!
    538k Lyrics Database Available - Only $49 - Check Here

  2. #2
    a.k.a. Nameslave
    Anthony Ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    4,985
    Country

    Canada Follow Anthony Ng On Twitter Add Anthony Ng on Facebook
    DNF$
    4,535
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    4,535
    Donate  
    Yes, eFax and some other fax-to-email services forward fax as attachment. HOWEVER, since you have not signed up for their service with that particular e-mail (you just picked up that domain, right?), WHY on earth would you get a fax addressed to you? If it is only for curiosity, then you'll have to take the risk. LOL!
    Profoundly influenced by #Bauhaus, @Nameslave unrepentantly embraces #Minimalism in his #multimedia portfolio. His early works include an experimental adaptation of Chekhov’s Cherry Orchard inspired at least partly by Robert Fripp. His totally irrelevant M.Ed. dissertation examines Organizational Culture and Change Management.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    455
    DNF$
    2,265
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,265
    Donate  
    The previous domain owner may have signed up for the service and you're simply getting there mail. A .tif file should be safe to open if checking with a updated virus checker finds nothing you can open away, but its not really meant for you so delete anyways
    cPanel / VB3 skins: | Deleting Domains Search Tool:
    www.pixelbypixel.com | www.expiresoft.com

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    RMF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    1,440
    DNF$
    858
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    858
    Donate  
    This is why its good to have a seperate computer for email.

    RMF

  5. #5
    President
    GiantDomains's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    N-Y-C
    Posts
    6,729
    DNF$
    575
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    575
    Donate  
    I got one of these before. The fax introduces you to efax, lol.
    NETCHEAP - Discount Dotster Reseller - $7.99
    FREE pushes from your dotster account, renew for $7.99! 1. Create a netcheap account. 2. Push from dotster to netcheap account name. 3. Renew for $7.99!

  6. #6
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    cyphix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,603
    DNF$
    1,778
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,778
    Donate  
    lol thx guys!

    Yeah I figured it's prolly not for me anyways so I'll just delete it heh
    538k Lyrics Database Available - Only $49 - Check Here

  7. #7
    DNF Addict
    Rocket2Uranus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    2,176
    DNF$
    3,442
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,442
    Donate  
    I use efax, and that looks like a completely legit fax, though clearly it seems it is not for you. I see little to no risk in opening it.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com