Closing Doman Auctions
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Gold Forums > Gold Cafe
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2009, 02:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-10-2009 04:24 PM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 204
DNF$: 1,430
Location: Florida
Country:


Here we go again...

Just got two of these emails today - identical except for the domain name.
Is someone trying to build up a portfolio quickly or is this the latest version of the appraisal scam?

From: The Domain Store <resaledomain@gmail.com> [Add to Address Book]
Subject: Offer to buy XXXXXXX.XXX
Date: Aug 6, 2009 12:51 PM
Dear Sir,

we are interested to buy your domain name XXXXXXX.XXX and offer 65% of the appraised market value.
As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies:

sedo
pd domains
accurate domains

If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.

As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use Paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow.com for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.

We appreciate your business,

Yours truly,

B. Phillips
Resale Domain
__________________

DomainQuay - J
DomainQuay is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 08-06-2009, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Dances With Dogs
 
Doc Com's Avatar
 
Name: info [@] gerry.mobi
Last Online: Today 02:03 AM
iTrader: (73)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,306
DNF$: 25,529
Country:



APPR scam.
__________________



Conservative With A Conscience

Doc Com is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 02:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-10-2009 04:24 PM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 204
DNF$: 1,430
Location: Florida
Country:


Thanks Doc Com! I thought it might be, but was trying to give him the benefit of the doubt.

I'm debating on whether or not to send a polite answer...
__________________

DomainQuay - J
DomainQuay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 02:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
PRED's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 08:44 PM
iTrader: (118)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,966
DNF$: 1,081
Country:




yep, apppraisal scam
had 2 emails already

he just got 3 words, starting with f o c

anyone running appraisal scams must know the business of sorts and my money is hes a member here or past member

lets out him

anyone want to go digging for this whore?
__________________

For Sale for a Limited Time. Offers via PM
PRED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 02:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
iSpoof.com
 
biggedon's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 09:49 AM
iTrader: (112)
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,000
DNF$: 51,477
Location: 96.net


Quote:
Originally Posted by DomainQuay View Post
Just got two of these emails today - identical except for the domain name.
Is someone trying to build up a portfolio quickly or is this the latest version of the appraisal scam?

From: The Domain Store <resaledomain@gmail.com> [Add to Address Book]
Subject: Offer to buy XXXXXXX.XXX
Date: Aug 6, 2009 12:51 PM
Dear Sir,

we are interested to buy your domain name XXXXXXX.XXX and offer 65% of the appraised market value.
As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies:

sedo
pd domains
accurate domains

If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.

As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use Paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow.com for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.

We appreciate your business,

Yours truly,

B. Phillips
Resale Domain
i always tell them


"if you want this domain appraised, then you will have to bear that burden.

that statement in no way implies that:
1. the domain is for sale
2. that we will sell the domain at that appraised price or any other price.
3. this reply constitutes any agreement between any party herein.

Thanks"

they don't come back after that
__________________
worldiptv.com * svc.net * belisted.com * mobi.us.com * sop.net
* qfm.net * upyo.com * vioz.com *
Need A SedoPro Account PM Me
biggedon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 02:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Dances With Dogs
 
Doc Com's Avatar
 
Name: info [@] gerry.mobi
Last Online: Today 02:03 AM
iTrader: (73)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,306
DNF$: 25,529
Country:



Now they are down to 65%. They were 80% earlier in the week.
__________________



Conservative With A Conscience

Doc Com is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 03:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
PRED's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 08:44 PM
iTrader: (118)
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,966
DNF$: 1,081
Country:




Quote:
Originally Posted by biggedon View Post
i always tell them


"if you want this domain appraised, then you will have to bear that burden.

that statement in no way implies that:
1. the domain is for sale
2. that we will sell the domain at that appraised price or any other price.
3. this reply constitutes any agreement between any party herein.

Thanks"

they don't come back after that
i prefer my reply:

f*ck off c*nts
__________________

For Sale for a Limited Time. Offers via PM
PRED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 03:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
The Evil Mod
 
draggar's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Last Online: Yesterday 09:18 PM
iTrader: (36)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8,355
DNF$: 63
Location: South Florida
Country:

Send a message via ICQ to draggar Send a message via AIM to draggar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Com View Post
Now they are down to 65%. They were 80% earlier in the week.
The economy is even hitting scammers.
draggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 05:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
DNF Member
 
wasistdas's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-16-2009 10:28 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 170
DNF$: 308
Location: Ukraine
Country:


Got the same email. Luckily, this thread is already indexed by google so the only result google shows leads here.
__________________
Property.SU
wasistdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 08:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Exclusive Lifetime Member
 
ervinter's Avatar
 
Name: Ervin Ter
Last Online: Yesterday 11:18 AM
iTrader: (3)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 152
DNF$: 2,124
Location: Malaysia
Country:

Send a message via MSN to ervinter

This is my first time hearing this kind of scam. Thanks for sharing it as I will beware next time.
__________________
Ervin Ter Blog
ervinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 07:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 08-08-2009 08:26 PM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 28
DNF$: 172
Location: Passau


Same here

Thanks.
Frankcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
Platinum Lifetime Member
 
AlokSharma's Avatar
 
Name: Alok Sharma
Last Online: 08-11-2009 10:23 AM
iTrader: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
DNF$: 10
Location: Nasik, India
Country:


I too got the same email. Here it is:-

Dear Sir,
we are interested to buy your domain name RUCHIE.INFO and offer 65% of the appraised market value.
As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies:

sedo.com
pddomains.com
accuratedomains.com
If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.

As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use Paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow.com for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.

We appreciate your business,

Domain Resale
__________________
Thanks & Regards,
www.ruchie.com
AlokSharma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:55 AM   #13 (permalink)
Dances With Dogs
 
Doc Com's Avatar
 
Name: info [@] gerry.mobi
Last Online: Today 02:03 AM
iTrader: (73)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,306
DNF$: 25,529
Country:



These things spawn others to jump on the bandwagon.

I am now seeing

New Appraisal sites
New Emails
Lesser amounts paid out
__________________



Conservative With A Conscience

Doc Com is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 12:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
hugegrowth's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 12:15 AM
iTrader: (23)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4,042
DNF$: 9,001
Location: BeeCee
Country:


Likely not from Sedo

who are pddomains.com and accuratedomains.com ?

would be someone affiliated with one of those companies, wouldn't it?
__________________
Submit URL Free now - Free website advertising and classifieds
DomainReport.ca - domain tips and .ca domain blog
hugegrowth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com