Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Gold Lifetime Member
    NamePopper.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,181
    DNF$
    1,179
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,179
    Donate  

    Lightbulb WARNING: PayPal Fraud Emails

    WARNING

    Someone is sending emails to (apparently) random addresses with the following message......

    - - - - - - - -
    As part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance of fraud on our website, we are undertaking a period review of our member accounts. You are requested to visit our site by following the link given below :

    (I have removed the link for obvious reasons)

    Please fill in the required information. This is required for us to continue to offer you a safe and risk free environment to send and receive money, and maintain the PayPal Experience.

    - - - - - - - -

    These emails appear to come from service@paypal.com - and they contain the entire PayPal website homepage including all the links and graphics. However - the link given in the message body (above) is NOT a real PayPal link.

    This started last night when I received several of these emails at addresses that are not associated with my PayPal account - and have never even been used before. That immediately sent up a red flag in my mind. So this morning my brother (who's account I share) contacted PayPal and verified that in fact this is an attempt to get people to log in to a fake site - and enter their name & password.

    All the other links and graphics in the email are the real ones from PayPal (I guess to give it credibility) but the link where they ask you to visit and enter your information is NOT.

    I went ahead and clicked the link this morning to see what happened - and it brought up a error 404 page - so apparently the crooks have already moved on to a different one - but this is almost certain to happen again.

    For the record - when you mouse-over the link in the email - you will see that the link that shows up in your status bar (bottom of your browser) does not exactly match the link printed in the email - and is also an http address - whereas the link printed shows a https address (secure). These guys are tricky.

    So please everyone - do NOT go to ANY links that you receive from a PayPal email and enter your account information. There is no telling how many people got an email this time - but even though they appear to have moved on - it's almost certain there will be another attempt.

    Again - these emails look perfectly legitimate - and are complete with the entire PayPal homepage and working links. Only the link where they ask you go is false. If not for receiving them at addresses that were not associated with our account - I might have even been fooled myself. Pretty scary stuff.
    Last edited by NamePopper.com; 06-25-2003 at 11:37 AM.

  2. #2
    DNF Addict
    Rocket2Uranus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    2,176
    DNF$
    3,442
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,442
    Donate  
    devious!

  3. #3
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    NameTower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    .ca
    Posts
    2,941
    DNF$
    1,032
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,032
    Donate  
    thanks popper

  4. #4
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    hellstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    427
    DNF$
    618
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    618
    Donate  
    Was the URL of the fake page a misspell/typo of "paypal.com"?

  5. #5
    DNF Addict
    GT Web's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Vancouver, Cana
    Posts
    6,895
    DNF$
    9,578
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    9,578
    Donate  
    thanks Popper, I will look out for it

  6. #6
    Gold Lifetime Member
    NamePopper.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,181
    DNF$
    1,179
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,179
    Donate  
    Originally posted by hellstrom
    Was the URL of the fake page a misspell/typo of "paypal.com"?
    No it wasn't. Since the page is dead now - it's ok to post it I guess.

    The email showed this link....

    https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=verification

    But when you clicked it - you were actually brought here....

    http://www.paypal.com@207.44.196.35/...=verification/

    Notice the "@207.44.196.35" after the paypal.com part - and also notice they made the link in the email appear to be a https (secure) address when it was actually an http (non secure) address when you clicked it.

    By the way - if you cut and paste the link from the email into your browser - or click the first link above - (instead of clicking it in the message) - it will take you to a PayPal page that says you have requested and outdated version of PayPal etc.

    They (PayPal) said there is a lot of this going on.

    I'm going to take a screenshot of the message and upload it. Gimme just a minute.

  7. #7
    Gold Lifetime Member
    NamePopper.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,181
    DNF$
    1,179
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,179
    Donate  
    Well - the forum system will only allow a 500x500 image to be attached - so it won't accept my screenshot of the original email. Hmmmm.....

    Anyway - I received the short version of the message apparently - because I've discovered there are some people at other forums saying they also got fake emails - but they were much longer - and included more than just the one paragraph message we received.

  8. #8
    Jedi Master
    Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,138
    DNF$
    49,931
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    49,931
    Donate  
    I got one of these a year or two ago, but not recently. I also get them periodically trying to get me to verify my Yahoo! details. . . .

    Needless to say, I trash them.

    -Bob
    . . .

  9. #9
    Gold Lifetime Member
    NamePopper.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2,181
    DNF$
    1,179
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    1,179
    Donate  
    Hey Bob..... your new signature is cracking me up.

  10. #10
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    bidawinner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    3,676
    DNF$
    8,903
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    8,903
    Donate  
    what a bunch dickheads,.. Thanks for the heads-up popper !

  11. #11
    DNF Regular

    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    877
    DNF$
    886
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    886
    Donate  
    Hmm, if you go to 207.44.196.35, you see the empty index, and this:
    Apache/1.3.27 server at server3.neosurge.com Port 80

    neosurge.com is where they were hosted?

  12. #12
    Jedi Master
    Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    3,138
    DNF$
    49,931
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    49,931
    Donate  
    Originally posted by NamePopper.com
    Hey Bob..... your new signature is cracking me up.
    I have been accused of it on occasion.

    . . .

  13. #13
    Platinum Lifetime Member
    Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    White Rock, BC
    Posts
    4,892
    DNF$
    2,046
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,046
    Donate  
    i get these daily.

    When i first started getting them, I was like OMG! this is seriosu, dum people could b suckered into this.

    I told ebay, and that was that.

    A few weeks later and they start to pile up, i ogt to ebay, thier response:

    "Those are jsut spam"

    LoL. I thought it woudl be ALOT more important to them. maybe i got a bad CSR...

    Get an eNom resellers account free and instantly,
    click here - Automated Signup!

  14. #14
    Exclusive Lifetime Member
    QuantumBeam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4,054
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    3,101
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    3,101
    Donate  
    Good advice......thanks.

  15. #15
    Platinum Lifetime Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    59
    DNF$
    215
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    215
    Donate  
    Good call.

  16. #16
    DNF Regular

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    684
    DNF$
    903
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    903
    Donate  
    I called PayPal about these and one important tip they gave me is that these people are also able to add paypal to your blocked senders list in outlook so that if they successfully get your info you will not get the notification emails. You can check this is tools>message rules>blocked senders list to be sure it hasn't happened to you.
    Donna Mahony

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com