Welcome to Welcome to DNF.com™ - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars

If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    My BB: 800-S3X-Village
    Mr. Deleted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    2,965
    DNF$
    2,027
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,027
    Donate  

    Wierd network uncovered - areasearch.com

    First, I had a problem with a client and spam, no it was not my client spamming, it was made to LOOK like my client was, so my host suspented the domain. I then did the research on the real spammer, and in doing so, I came across and unrelated network of 12,307 domains on one IP address.

    The first domain I found was http://garbler.net/, and when I checked the whois it all seemed legit, a company called GracieMedia.com, and I went to the site, assuming that it was a domain holding company, but turned out to be a advertising agency.

    But the Garbler.net site, when I clicked on a link to an advertiser, opened the page in an iframe, which is not good business, and the advertiser does not get real traffic that way, so if this is PPC, the advertisers are loosing.

    So I called Gracie Media, and told them this. They were suprised that they supposedly owned this garbler.net domain name. And not to mention that the whois address on the domain is from an old address from 3 years ago.

    Annie Coryat from Gracie Media is vary concerned about this, and told me to help her shut this domain down, as it is useing her name in the whois.

    I then did a reverse IP search for this domain and found 12000 more domains in this IP, all seem to look the same, but the whois seems all to be different for each one.

    So who is running this network of 12,000 domains, and why are they useing fake whois for that many domains? They almost look like a google search results page, and probably get a lot of cross linked traffic, but why not use legit email and contact info for such a network?

    http://www.domaintools.com/reverse-i...me=garbler.net

    (ip: 63.118.11.117)

    http://search.msn.com/results.aspx?q....117&FORM=MSNH

    BTW, areasearch.com is the only ".com" that I could see on this network, all seem to be .net even if the .com is available

    Mr. Deleted, YouTube Partner
    Joseph Slabaugh, Founder, Wally Woods, LLC

  2. #2
    DNF Addict

    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Neither here no
    Posts
    3,443
    Country

    United States
    DNF$
    5,275
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    5,275
    Donate  

    Re: Wierd network uncovered - areasearch.com

    It's registered at Moniker. May be a new parking page of theirs?

  3. #3
    My BB: 800-S3X-Village
    Mr. Deleted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    2,965
    DNF$
    2,027
    Bank
    0
    Total DNF$
    2,027
    Donate  

    Re: Wierd network uncovered - areasearch.com

    no, it appears to be a private site, with google ads on some sites, but on the others, it has another private ad feed, which as I said, links inside the iframe, so the advertiser is getting nothing for their ad dollar, which is really click fraud in a sense. I would not want to pay for such an ad and be stuck inside an iframe:

    http://www.slabaugh.org/adsiniframe.gif (http://www.gototrafficschool.com is in the frame here) http://garbler.net/728_90_leaderboard.php is the link to the frame where the ad is on.


    As for moniker making such a page and making the ads not fully show, that would be hugh in itself.
    Last edited by Mr. Deleted; 09-19-2006 at 06:06 PM.

    Mr. Deleted, YouTube Partner
    Joseph Slabaugh, Founder, Wally Woods, LLC

Similar Threads

  1. Gamers-Talk.com Network :: 10 fantastic domains, 4 sites :: HUGE PRICE CUT!
    By dubstep in forum Developed Websites for Sale
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-26-2006, 10:51 AM
  2. Video Gaming Network [For Possible Sale] .com
    By EGS in forum Developed Websites for Sale
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-26-2005, 10:47 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-16-2005, 07:10 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-06-2004, 02:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com