Well I got that email too; if you checked the whois that domain is only registered for one year. All I can say is that it could be a domain appraisal scam...
I laughed when I saw the email...dunno why![]()
If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the largest domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 105,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.
Register Today on DNForum IT'S FREE!
Does anyone know someone Anthony Taller vice prsedident of brand name services?
Well I got that email too; if you checked the whois that domain is only registered for one year. All I can say is that it could be a domain appraisal scam...
I laughed when I saw the email...dunno why![]()
He told me to make appraisal in my domain in certifieddomainvalue.com and then to negotiate the price.when i asked him deails about him he told me that is based in switzerland and he is investor.
Yep that the old scam.. don't buy his appraisal.
He'll promise to pay a ridiculous amount if the appraisal checks out.. you'll buy a bogus appraisal for like $60 and after that he will just vanish.
http://www.thenamepros.com/Archive/84639521.htm
He sent me thislink that he has asked the opinion of other members.
For Sale: Rystal.com, Pentomic.com, Clebi.com, Kulmo.com, Kimeh.com, Syazo.com, Mexir.com, Sheor.com
Please support: Subscribe to Neptuni — Domain Name Marketplace today!
TheNamePros.com New Domain Name Scam: http://www.dotweekly.com/thenamepros...ain-name-scam/
...
hmm, why not you tell him you are interested in his business domain name and is willing to pay a huge sum but he has to go through your appointed domain appraisers.![]()
Tit for tat..
Appraisals are garbage. Don't care who or where you get them from. Even if free, waste of time and effort. You can use Estibot (which I do) for aggregated stats but NO appraisals are any good when it comes to $ value. Might as well slap an "$XXXX" on it and call it a day.
Free, Premium Available .com Names FreshAvails.com. Try our Sneak Peek Program
Follow Us On Twitter! Get the Scoop before it happens. Twitter.com/FreshAvails
DomainVictor.com-Domains for Sale!
Just received a new version of the appraisal scam. If you get this type of letter, don't bother replying.
-------------
Hello,
We are going to purchase your domain name.
Our company is in Hosting and domain name business.
Please email us your desired price in USD or euros for the domain name in the subject line.
If you have other names for sale please email us your domains with prices.
Looking forward to doing business with you.
Regards,
Jerad Martensen
CEO
Domain Investing Inc
Domain Name Investing & Web Development
See my domains, grouped by category, at BetterDomains.net - reseller offers welcome!
Follow me at Facebook or Twitter - I'm "BetterDomains" at both places.
My first encounter with this type of scam was back in 2002... 9 years later ; still going strong.
Sad, but true.
Rob
Chambly.net, adsenseblogs.com, iphone-sale.com aubainedujour.com, adsenseworld.com logrotate.com and many more!
"We are going to purchase your domain name."
I guess English could be their second language, but I doubt someone whose English is that bad or does not have someone to check emails has the money to buy expensive domain names.
Also if they give their real names without a (real) phone number or address, I would lean to scam.
Low-ballers often use similar bulk emails (How much would you sell Shrewd.com for?") but when I get the same email on my obscure doman names (How much would you sell UpperStage.com?), I would guess it's a scam.
Bookmarks