DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars
HomeRegisterMembershipsGetting StartedDomain Tools Domain EbooksSEO Software Domain Resellers Advertise

Go Back   DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars > Domain News, Beginners Guides and Legal Stuff! > Suggestions and Feedback
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2008, 10:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
DNP
Exclusive Senior Member
 
DNP's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 02:56 AM
iTrader: (244)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,269
DNF$: 351
Location: Canada
Country:



Question WTF!? Someone has tried to log into my account on DNForum

I've received the following email 30 minutes ago:

Dear DNP,

Someone has tried to log into your account on DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars with an incorrect password at least 5 times. This person has been prevented from attempting to login to your account for the next 15 minutes.

The person trying to log into your account had the following IP address: 64.72.122.156

All the best,
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars


and then 15 minutes ago:

Dear DNP,

As you requested, your password has now been reset. Your new details are as follows:

Username: DNP
Password: ******

To change your password, please visit this page: http://www.dnforum.com/profile.php?do=editpassword

All the best,
DNForum - Domain Sales, Domain Forum, Domain Appraisals, Domain Registrars


hm....
__________________
*** List of Top 1 Million U.S. Web Sites (September 2009) *** Exclusive offer for DNForum members is back!
DNP is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads
Old 08-19-2008, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
DNF Addict
No Avatar
 
Last Online: 11-14-2009 07:38 PM
iTrader: (115)
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,694
DNF$: 5,360
Location: New Jersey
Country:


How do we know this is really you?
__________________
Trademarks.org - trademark information
Keyword Factory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Bloody lovely
 
Acro's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 08:07 PM
iTrader: (394)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 23,903
DNF$: 4,071
Location: USA
Country:




The IP is a porn site. Looks like spam.
__________________

DomainGang.com - Domainers' Most Awesome News Source
Acroplex - Web & Graphics
Acro.net - My Blog
My Countdown Counting down to: Snapnames rebate hitting my mailbox
80 days 8 hours 10 minutes
Acro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
south's Avatar
 
Name: Scott
Last Online: Today 01:30 PM
iTrader: (138)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,134
DNF$: 2,667
Location: 33143/04930
Country:


Wow... I'd be asking admins if anyone else is using that ip/range.

According to geobytes, the ip is NY. Of couse, if it's a hacker with a clue, they'd be bouncing off a compromised system, so that may be irrelevant.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Acro View Post
The IP is a porn site. Looks like spam.
But why would a porn site be requesting a password reset for him? Someone must be doing hosting from the same IP they're using for internet access. or it's owned.

I'd change your email password too. And keep an eye out for other password reset reqs.

The IP also has no reverse dns entry.
__________________
All offers valid for 72 hours except running auctions.

SJCParking.com | SFOOffsiteParking.com | LaGuardiaParking.net

Last edited by south; 08-19-2008 at 11:04 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
south is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
andyat11's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 01:25 AM
iTrader: (18)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 814
DNF$: 616
Country:

Send a message via AIM to andyat11 Send a message via MSN to andyat11 Send a message via Yahoo to andyat11

Traced it down the ip is hosted by http://www.alphared.com/
andyat11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
south's Avatar
 
Name: Scott
Last Online: Today 01:30 PM
iTrader: (138)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,134
DNF$: 2,667
Location: 33143/04930
Country:


Quote:
Originally Posted by andyat11 View Post
Traced it down the ip is hosted by http://www.alphared.com/
That's the provider, probably not the person on the IP.
__________________
All offers valid for 72 hours except running auctions.

SJCParking.com | SFOOffsiteParking.com | LaGuardiaParking.net
south is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
andyat11's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 01:25 AM
iTrader: (18)
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 814
DNF$: 616
Country:

Send a message via AIM to andyat11 Send a message via MSN to andyat11 Send a message via Yahoo to andyat11

Not the person but they did go through them ....
andyat11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
DNP
Exclusive Senior Member
 
DNP's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 02:56 AM
iTrader: (244)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,269
DNF$: 351
Location: Canada
Country:



Quote:
Originally Posted by south View Post
I'd change your email password too. And keep an eye out for other password reset reqs.
Both DNForum and email passwords reset. Thanks, Scott!
__________________
*** List of Top 1 Million U.S. Web Sites (September 2009) *** Exclusive offer for DNForum members is back!
DNP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 11:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
DNF Addict
 
south's Avatar
 
Name: Scott
Last Online: Today 01:30 PM
iTrader: (138)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3,134
DNF$: 2,667
Location: 33143/04930
Country:


No problem. Hope it was for nothing.
__________________
All offers valid for 72 hours except running auctions.

SJCParking.com | SFOOffsiteParking.com | LaGuardiaParking.net
south is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 01:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Domain Magnate™
 
DomainMagnate's Avatar
 
Name: Michael
Last Online: Today 03:30 PM
iTrader: (68)
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,637
DNF$: 6,457
Location: DnMagnate.com


Quote:
Originally Posted by Keyword Factory View Post
How do we know this is really you?
indeed
__________________
Domain Magnate Mind Reading
DomainMagnate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 02:10 AM   #11 (permalink)
DNP
Exclusive Senior Member
 
DNP's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 02:56 AM
iTrader: (244)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,269
DNF$: 351
Location: Canada
Country:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Keyword Factory View Post
How do we know this is really you?
Easy. You send 5 digit amount in USD to my paypal account and PM me the transaction ID. I will reply you withing 24 hours with the exact amount and push any of my lll.biz domains you choose
__________________
*** List of Top 1 Million U.S. Web Sites (September 2009) *** Exclusive offer for DNForum members is back!
DNP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 02:30 AM   #12 (permalink)
Never Sleep™
 
pcproffenno's Avatar
 
Name: Stian
Last Online: Today 03:24 PM
iTrader: (132)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5,833
DNF$: 3,895
Location: EHOT.net
Country:



Quote:
Originally Posted by DNP View Post
Easy. You send 5 digit amount in USD to my paypal account and PM me the transaction ID. I will reply you withing 24 hours with the exact amount and push any of my lll.biz domains you choose
__________________
EHOT.net | Twitter | Skype ID: ehot.net
pcproffenno is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 09:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
DNP
Exclusive Senior Member
 
DNP's Avatar
 
Last Online: Yesterday 02:56 AM
iTrader: (244)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,269
DNF$: 351
Location: Canada
Country:



Moderators/Admins: Could you please review this thread and check the IP as suggested below?

Thx
__________________
*** List of Top 1 Million U.S. Web Sites (September 2009) *** Exclusive offer for DNForum members is back!
DNP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 05:03 AM   #14 (permalink)
 
aZooZa's Avatar
 
Name: Dale Hubbard
Last Online: Today 04:54 AM
iTrader: (45)
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 5,874
DNF$: 5,869
Location: Exeter, UK
Country:

Send a message via MSN to aZooZa Send a message via Skype™ to aZooZa

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=282133
__________________
UK Drop Catching Services: Dropsystem.co.uk
New! Canada TBR Drop Catching: Dropping.ca
New! QUALITY MiniSites: NOTsoMINI.com
aZooZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 08:14 AM   #15 (permalink)
 
gingeman's Avatar
 
Name: Chris
Last Online: 11-20-2009 12:32 PM
iTrader: (64)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,514
DNF$: 796
Location: A95.com
Country:

Send a message via AIM to gingeman

Have you received any other unusual emails? Like a phishing sort? I got one the other day from 'Jim domain- assistance with domain', which when I clicked on it, took me back to the login of my email account. I always report any suspicious emails and change my passwords if I slightly suspect they may have been compromised. Hope you sort this out.
__________________
FOR SALE NOW: W-U.com $6k
gingeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.
Copyright @2001-2009 DNForum.com