In March I purchased the domain in question from Prateek after he advertised in this thread:
http://www.dnforum.com/f116/540-mont...ad-276072.html
As you can see it is advertised as making $540/mo. From February 25 (I paid to test the traffic) to today the domain name has made a total of $608. A domain name advertised as making $540/mo and in 4 full months (almost 5 now) it makes a grand total of $608? Somethings fishy here and all signs are pointing to
click fraud.
Just look at the stats... the week I test it (end of Feb) the domain does $125 alone. Pretty good and on track to meet the advertised revenue. I pay for the name and in March (the first month I own it) revenue drops right down to $252/mo. It goes sharply downhill from there to June with 4 visits and 1 click (
One $35 click.) Strange isn't it how the traffic pattern has changed so dramatically in a short period of time. Impossible that
in one week revenue drops from $500+/mo to $250/mo. (Feb-Mar)
right after I pay and get the domain.
Before I contact the seller I email DomainSponsor asking about the domain. Traffic quality dept. had this to say: "Chazestudentloans.com's not too hot. Going back in the data (April 20th to present), it's got 91 clicks, 55 of which are flagged for user excess clicking. Basically, mostly fraud."
Further (from DS):
Quote:
The pub you bought the name from was terminated from DomainSponsor due
to fraud.
|
So I present these facts to the seller and tell him I need to be refunded as there is no way this sale was legitimate. Conveniently the seller claims that he wasn't the seller after all but just a domain broker. Strange, because at no point was I told he was brokering the domain name. Only when it came to the final payment the seller said this:
Quote:
Please initiate the transaction. The domain's whois records are in my partner's name, so I guess it would be best to use his email and use his name as the seller (although all the communication etc can be done with me).
His email is: chirag.555@gmail.com
Name: Chirag Shah
Thanks,
Prateek
|
Being partners with someone and brokering a domain name for someone are entirely different. Partners are
responsible for each others actions. Prateek Jain and Chirag Shah could in the end be the same person. They both responded to my email within 5 minutes of each other.
Prateek disclaims all responsibility and ultimately tells me "please pursue the matter further with Chirag Shah as he is the one whose domain you bought and who received the payment" - he names reasons for the revenue drop ranging from registrar issues to the American economy. Absolutely bogus. Further, he feigns ignorance by claiming that a click from India cannot yield $1+ RPCs.
The fact is Prateek Jain and/or Chirag Shah sold a domain name with fake traffic to me for $8,500 and are now refusing to reverse the deal. Facts brought to light almost guarantee that the domain name never received real revenue in the first place. The traffic and revenue was orchestrated click fraud to inflate the value and defraud the buyer.
Prateek Jain sold me this domain name with no mention of himself being a broker (until 4+ months after the sale.) He is wholly responsible for refunding me and has refused; blaming myself and this mysterious Chirag Shah. If Prateek was not the individual who was involved or running this scam he is still liable for what has taken place as he sold me this domain name claiming to be the seller and acting as one.
So that anyone who Google's either of the above aliases will be made aware of this transaction here is some info on them.
Prateek Jain
PayPal Email:
prateek_com@hotmail.com
Email:
prateek.777@gmail.com
DNF User:
Prateekj - same username on NP, Digitalpoint & domainforums .com.
WHOIS info:
Prateek Jain
903/19, Indradarshan
Lokhandwala, Andheri(W)
Mumbai
Maharashtra,400053
IN
Tel. +91.9820102187
Chirag Shah
Email:
chirag.555@gmail.com
WHOIS:
Chirag
Chirag Shah (chirag.555@gmail.com)
210, Krishna Niwas, Road 5, J.V.P.D. Scheme, Parle(w).
Mumbai
Maharashtra,400056
IN
Tel. +022.65520871
Any parking company employees would also do good to keep an eye on accounts opened under the above two names. Keep in mind DS already terminated one due to fraud.
Of course Prateek or Chirag can show that they are upstanding people and refund this purchase which I would ensure this thread reflects when that happens.
Comments are welcome.