View Single Post
Old 01-12-2009, 04:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Doc Com
Dances With Dogs
 
Doc Com's Avatar
 
Name: info [@] gerry.mobi
Last Online: Today 03:05 PM
iTrader: (73)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,304
DNF$: 25,521
Country:



Exclamation Warning - New Scams and Scammers

Yesterday I was made aware of a scammer who pays for domains and then does a charge back after securing the domain name. Naturally he used an email account that can be easily closed and untraceable - gmail

This was posted on another forum (mobi mobi mobi!)

-----------------------------

http://mobility.mobi/showpost.php?p=91912&postcount=3

and this was the linking of the two:

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showt...php?p=10314038

-----------------------------

I (we) certainly appreciate the sharp eyes by anyone who spots these scams.



However, there seems to be more going on and may be here on DNF as well.

Read on:


--------------------------

And a couple of nights ago I got an email (actually 3 perhaps) from another gmail account holder who claimed he could not reach me via PM on DNF.

He wanted to know how much a certain domain was.

Can not reach me via PM?

He/she also had a gmail email address.


domainser@gmail.com

--------------------------------------

There is someone going around who all of a sudden claims they want to buy a domain because it is their name.

I got 2 offers in 2 days.

What caught my attention is the exact same verbiage in both but with different email addresses


This is the second email:

beneters(at)gmail(dot)com wrote:

Hello,

My name is Achilla Beneters and Im interested in buying your domain www(dot)achilla(dot)com Are you are interested in selling it? If you are, do you have any idea how much you want for it? If you don't, let me know and I will make you an offer instead and we can take it from there.

Many thanks for your time,

Achilla Beneters


My Response:

Gee, this is the same wording of some one supposedly named Genisa.

Are you that person too?


Hello,

My name is Genisa Westvilles and Im interested in buying your domain www(dot)genisa(dot)com Are you are interested in selling it? If you are, do you have any idea how much you want for it? If you don't, let me know and I will make you an offer instead and we can take it from there.

Many thanks for your time,

Genisa Westvilles

westvilles(at)gmail(dot)com


-----------------------------------

I would like to ask the mods/admin to please monitor the banned IP's and keep a look out for some of these gmail account holders.

I have noticed an increase in "non-members" or guests viewing the threads. I know some are bots but there seems to be more guest activity lately and coincides with all these scams and schemes lately.

I would strongly suggest to members to be

keenly aware of who you are dealing with,

their rep here on the forum,

how long they have been a member,

and what email addresses they are using.



If you are suspicious, it may be a good idea to get some other opinions from trusted members. I would refrain from immediately posting comments until you think you have confirmation of a bogus buyer or offer.

Just seems to be a huge increase in this crap since the beginning of the year.

Peace.
__________________



Conservative With A Conscience


Last edited by Doc Com; 01-12-2009 at 05:09 PM..
Doc Com is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Ads