View Single Post
Old 02-08-2008, 03:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
mvl
 
mvl's Avatar
 
Last Online: Today 04:49 PM
iTrader: (17)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 880
DNF$: 404
Location: Netherlands
Country:


Two things you would not expect with a US Government owned domain:

1. Whois shows the original owner as the registrant
2. Domain resolves to 88.191.33.33 which is a French ip address:

Quote:
inetnum: 88.191.3.0 - 88.191.248.255
netname: FR-DEDIBOX
descr: Dedibox SAS
descr: Customers
descr: Paris, France
Isn't this story just a hoax to spotlight the domain?

Two more very unlikely facts:

The page at wab.com contains the following code:

Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="https://www.cybercrime.gov/"></script>
3. The src URL does not contain a javascript, but what it does is alerting the visitor that www.cybercrime.gov tries to use an Akamai certificate, and also shows the cybercrime.gov site in the browsers status bar suggesting we are connecting to an official government website while in fact we are not.

4. Searching for "wab.com" or "wab" on http://www.cybercrime.gov/ does return no results.

Last edited by mvl; 02-08-2008 at 03:36 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
mvl is offline   Reply With Quote