View Single Post
Old 02-08-2008, 03:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mr. Deleted
888-MRDELETED
 
Mr. Deleted's Avatar
 
Name: Joseph Slabaugh
Last Online: 05-01-2009 05:58 PM
iTrader: (48)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,947
DNF$: 24
Location: youtube.com/mrdeleted
Country:


You know, I think this is a joke... the name is still in the control of this "AloneTrio" and the host IP is in French too.

http://whois.domaintools.com/88.191.33.33

http://www.dedibox.fr/

Quote:
Originally Posted by leo View Post
Two things you would not expect with a US Government owned domain:

1. Whois shows the original owner as the registrant
2. Domain resolves to 88.191.33.33 which is a French ip address:



Isn't this story just a hoax to spotlight the domain?

Two more very unlikely facts:

The page at wab.com contains the following code:

Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="https://www.cybercrime.gov/"></script>
3. The src URL does not contain a javascript, but what it does is alerting the visitor that www.cybercrime.gov tries to use an Akamai certificate, and also shows the cybercrime.gov site in the browsers status bar suggesting we are connecting to an official government website while in fact we are not.

4. Searching for "wab.com" or "wab" on http://www.cybercrime.gov/ does return no results.


I did not see your post before my post above, but I was thinking the same...

Last edited by Mr. Deleted; 02-08-2008 at 03:48 PM.. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Mr. Deleted is offline   Reply With Quote