View Single Post
Old 02-04-2006, 05:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
jberryhill
Philadelphia Lawyer
 
jberryhill's Avatar
 
Last Online: 09-18-2009 01:17 AM
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,987
DNF$: 6,350


Re: Americans stealing .EUropean virtual properties?

chocolate.eu

Applicant
Name Ostrofsky Marc
Organisation First Internet Technology Ltd
Language English
Address 7 Chalcot Road
NW1 8LH London
United Kingdom
Phone +448.70068941
Email marc@ireit.com

Quote:
Two things that I'm happy to certify:

1) iREIT has 0% ownership in any .eu names.
2) iREIT spent $0 on the .eu lottery.
Two things that nobody asked, you mean.

To the original poster and some of the people screaming "fraud" - There is absolutely nothing wrong with forming corporations in Europe, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with filing trademark applications in Benelux. Anyone who had looked at the rules for .eu names understood that taking those two steps were all that was required to apply for .eu names. The Benelux trademark system does not work the way the US trademark system does. If you have a problem with that, then your problem is with the people who wrote the rules, not with the people who followed the rules.
Quote:
In fact "First European Technology Ltd." lists Marc Ostrofsky of IREIT as contact, so I fail to understand how can you claim otherwise with such a straight face?
He didn't "claim otherwise". What he did was a common thing that people who think they are clever often do in order to dodge a subject - say something that is very specifically true.

You can take it to the bank that the things he said numbered 1 and 2 above are likely to be absolutely and impeccably true. But if your question was intended more loosely as "are these guys applying for .eu names using one or more EU corporations and one or more Benelux TM applications?" then the answer is certainly yes, as anyone can determine from looking at the .eu whois data.
__________________
John Berryhill Ph.d., esq.
John-AT-johnberryhill.com
Please do not send private messages via dnforum.com, email me directly.
jberryhill is offline