Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Daily Diamond

"Click Clubs"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuckles2

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I can't possibly be the first in the world to ponder this, and since I'm a noob, I'll ask here. But BEFORE I ASK MY QUESTION, I MAKE THIS STATEMENT: I'm not suggesting this is legal, ethical, or even possible, and I'm NOT saying I would do this. I am asking because I'd like to know if this phenomenon exists, and if so how it might affect advertisers, domainers, google, search engines etc. as it seems it could become a growing phenomenon if it's possible.

The question is: Do "click clubs" exist? For example: say 100 members of the club post their website links, and each website features at least one ad prominently at the top of their page. Each day, the members log in to the club's page, which displays all members' links except their own, adding a parameter to each link which specifies logged-in member's membership ID. Using this parameter and server-side scripts, members remain aware of which mambers are not participating, which can exclude them from the club. Using such a page (or other local software) Every member visits the other members' sites. (And may "or may not" click an ad.) Nobody is paid to click, and nobody clicks their own ads, but they benefit from being in the club because they get hits and clicks. Getting one's own domain added to the list requires that logons first participate after obtaining a logon, and obtaining a logon to the site would require some sort of screening, such as referrals by members, whois data verified by utility bills, or whatever.

Yikes. I realize I've described so many details that it may appear I'm considering doing this... NOT SO. I was simply pondering the likelihood of its existence by hashing out how the details would work.