Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

seo Will changing domain name affect seo?

This is a question regarding SEO power of a domain name.

SheilaNorris

Level 1
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am a fresh graduate student. Currently my first job as an SEOer. I am doing a project for the company, which is SEO for a music website, I do SEO music web that for a while. For some reason, the music website that I SEO had to change the domain name. I am concerned that such a domain name change has any impact on SEO. Do not know if that is true? Hope everyone can help me.
Thanks everyone.

kevinthomppsonn

Level 2
Reaction score
Yes, domain name change will have some affect but you can 301 redirect all the links to your new domain. This way you can have your SEO in place and the traffic you are getting. You just have to inform all the people you link to that you changed your domain and they need to update the link with new domain name.

I hope it helps.

Domain summit 2024

Philip Allen

Reaction score
there is no big deal with it. you can use 301 redirect if you mitgrating your site to other domain. By using 301 redirect your alll authority will be shifted to news domain and your user will also be landed to new domain.

bhartzer

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
When you migrate a website to another domain name, there's a right way to do it and a wrong way to do it. I've actually been migrating domains for years now; many hire me to do domain migrations. If you don't do it properly you WILL lose rankings and traffic to the site.