Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

Top 10 list idea - your feeback needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chappy

Level 7
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Hi
I live in a fairly affluent area of California and realized there is not much on the web which tells me what is the very best of everything in our community. I'm talking about needing to know who are the best electricians, the best bakeries, the best tree removal services, etc... you get the idea. Of course "best" is subjective.

Hence my plan is to set up a <countyname>top10.com site on which I can list the top 10 of a bunch of different categories. Sure there is Yelp but it's not easy to find everything on there for my area and as a resident I just want to know who are the best of everything.
People love top 10 lists. You probably know TopTenReviews.com has enjoyed tremendous success.

First step is get a site up and running. I'm not a web expert but have put together Wordpress sites before so that'll probably be my first choice. Something simple but professional looking.
I have no idea about SEO so will have to look into how best to get the site to pop up when people google "<county> electricians" or "best bakeries in <county>".

As for revenue I could approach vendors and have them pay a fee to be on the list. A little sketchy I know so probably not the best idea.
Alternatively I could populate the list independently from other sources and then scatter ads around or have some local retailers pay to have their banners up there or something.

Let me know what you think. I don't want this to be a big waste of time.

Thanks

urlurl

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I think there is a top10 site already. but there is always room for better sites. For people to use it, it would need to have proper reviews or recommendations from industries professionals.

dcristo

Level 9
Legacy Exclusive Member