Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

Domain Parking?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rixride00

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Ok, I am still new to domains, but I have a dedicated server I do my hosting on.

Its a Linux Box with Cpanel, I just purchased a couple of domains and I want to set up 1 site with 2 or 3 domains pointed to it.

In Cpanel there is a setting for "parked domains" but it asks for the name servers.

I have general understanding of nameservers but I was told I shouldn't use my hosting box to be a nameserver it should be seperate, so that is what I think I am doing, does that mean I can't park domains on my box?

Thanks.
PS I use Zone Edit right now to point domains to my current box.

Is there any kinda of crash course that will help me understand the relationship of nameservers, to parking to forwarding to whatever.

Thanks.

Nameable

DNF Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I'll take a whack... anyone else can probably add more.

This stuff can get VERY technical, but basically nameservers map hostnames (e.g. www.domain.com) to IP addresses (e.g. 10.12.32.34). In order to get to a website, your browser automatically looks up the sites IP address using the hostname you typed in (or clicked).

When you 'park' a domain, it just means that you aren't putting up an active website... instead you have an 'under construction' or 'for sale' type of page.

There are PPC parking engines that help you make money from your parked domains. Instead of pointing the domain at your own server, you point it at the service's server.