• Welcome to DNForum.com - Domain Investor Forum, Free Domain Marketplace and a community for 45+ domain pros
    If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the oldest global domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 45,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, using our free in-house built tools, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

domain Scam ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

editionblog

New Member
Legacy Platinum Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2006
Messages
197
Reaction score
0
Today an email came to me which was from

Opera Software <[email protected]>

and writes like that

Hello,

Could you send me price for the name mentioned in the subject line?

By the way, investing in domain names is not the main direction of our business
but a good way to generate additional income.

If you have other domain names for sale please send us the complete list with
prices for consideration.

I'm a very busy person so it may take several hours before I respond :-)

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Jon Terner
Vice President
Opera Software

============================================================================
NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged
information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this
message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message
and deleting it from your computer.

===========================================================================


when i made search on google about operaen.com i found this link which is talking about scam about same letter here http://www.sedo.de/forum/?task=showthread&thread=2681&tmp=&tracked=&partnerid=&language=e

Be Carefull ......
 
Scam. I received those also....don´t even bother to respond
 
Scam !!!

Got the same, just the names change...
 
There is a "SEARCH" button here on dnf. If you would type "Opera software" there you would find answer.
 
Scam. Check the email headers; mine was from a dial-up connection in Russia...
 
Could you send me price for the name mentioned in the subject line?
This line sure looks like a very unnatural way of writing...:suspicious: (mass email)

rev'ed some from other software companies too.
 
Very common scam. Get them every other week....

We should all take the "bait a mugu" stance with these kinds of things.... If you are not familiar with bait a mugu then google it... Some really funny results :)
 
You just gotta love the "By the way, investing in domain names is not the main direction of our business
but a good way to generate additional income."
 
Got the same one two days ago - I replied - "$1 million dollars and if you ask for an appraisal your dog will get hit by a truck."

I have yet to hear back.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top Bottom