Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

closed how to appraise

This thread has been closed by the original author or DNF staff member.
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jtr

Hi , I am wondering what you guys look for when you appraise a name. Could you please post some tips on how you determine the value of a name?

Thanks

Donna Mahony

DNF Regular
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Originally posted by jtr
Hi , I am wondering what you guys look for when you appraise a name. Could you please post some tips on how you determine the value of a name?

Thanks

I generally ask 2 years income

NoFolio

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi jtr.

I am very new to this whole thing, and still have tons to learn. However, I decided it couldn't hurt for me to tell you what I have learned, just from reading this forum for a week or two. If anything I state here is incorrect, or could be better said, PLEASE correct me.

I think the first thing is to ask yourself "How is the buyer of this domain going to make money off of it?" Think about it from the end user's perspective, not the resellers view. Think about exactly how you would develop the site and be able to make money off of it. Afterall, if you can't make money with it, you don't want to put money into it!

Another important thing is how many people are searching for what this site could possibly offer. Use overture's suggestion tool (here at the moment), type in the keyword(s) of your domain and see how many people are searching these words. If nobody's searching for it, then you're not going to get much traffic, and everyone knows traffic = money. Putting up a little site with stats is even better. See how many type-ins you actually do get, and see how many people are linking to you (referrals).